Summer Sewjourn

It’s Valentine’s weekend, so it must be Sewjourn time!

As per usual we travelled up via Patch n Quilt and had a visit with our effervescent Mary!

20150214-223131.jpgThe shop is looking wonderful, as you can see, with lots to tempt.

A new cafe has opened up just a few doors away, so we ventured in and were delighted with the ambience, food and service.

20150214-223444.jpgThere’s even a fire for when we visit in Winter.

So to Sewjourn, and the obligatory show and tell of our purchases

20150214-223612.jpgDidn’t the girls do well? I was very restrained

20150214-223921.jpgAs you can see, we were all very taken with Irene’s gorgeous “Flowering Snowball” quilt.

The studio was soon abuzz with the hum of sewing machines, chat and laughter……..then a cry of despair!

20150214-224434.jpgI’d brought “all” the blocks with the border to put this quilt top together……..only to discover I’m one, Two, THREE, blocks short!!! So frustrating. Put that away and took out my Aunts pieced blocks………only to discover I’d left the background fabric at home! Someone mentioned it was Friday the 13th! Luckily Miss H had hers with her and generously gave me some and saved the day.

Late afternoon a storm moved in with torrential rain, loads of thunder and lightening and wind. These hills

20150214-224928.jpgwere not to be seen through the low cloud. Our intended walk to dinner at the pub, two minutes up the road, turned into a car drive as it was too wet to walk.

A little more sewing took place after dinner, but before too long the house was quiet and dark; all good quilters were fast asleep.

More tomorrow.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Summer Sewjourn

  1. Theresa Arnold says:

    I “sew” appreciate all the wonderful pictures you include in your post. I feel as if I were there. And in these wintery days, the sight of lovely fabrics and patterns makes me happy. Hope you have a happy day too!

  2. MelodyA says:

    What a lovely weekend for you and a full day of sewing bliss!

  3. Barb Vedder says:

    fun shop, good loot, yummy food – as usual you are having such fun

  4. Cécile says:

    What a wonderful beginning of this weekend !! I think they are unforgettable moments !
    Thank you for sharing and I am impatient to discover tomorrow…
    Xoxo

  5. audrey says:

    Sound asleep after their very long, difficult day.:) lol Thanks for sharing the goodies with us!

  6. I am sitting here crying all over my laptop, because I’m not there with you!! Excellent food and gorgeous shopping!.. I hope you didn’t receive any untoward comments in the pub ……..

  7. treadlemusic says:

    So many treasures going home with you!!! Such a delight to have new culinary discoveries!!!!!

  8. Helen F says:

    The salad meal was yours out of the four! You leaving the bits behind sounds like my effort when we were there with Anne – I can totally relate to how you feel!!!!!!

  9. Irene Blanck says:

    Lots of fun shopping there I see. And thank you so much for all your support – I’m sure you’ll have as much fun as I did making Flowering Snowball!

  10. Cocopatch says:

    very fun! I made a quilt for my son with Comma fabrics! I keep a block, you want it for complete yours? hihi…

  11. Carole Minihan says:

    I am envious of the beautiful sojourn, looks wonderful

  12. bermudagirl says:

    Looks like you girls had a ball, thanks for sharing all your lovely goodies!!

  13. Carole Minihan says:

    It is the picture of patch and quilt shop that the pink and white clam shell quilt we spoke about on wednesday

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

