Woolly bits

Sunday was our first Woolly Bits Day for 2015 at the ever beautiful and uplifting Millrose

20150127-104153.jpgwith, of course, lunch at the cafe next door

20150127-104224.jpg

20150127-104242.jpgwhere we feasted!

20150127-104317.jpgJust enough to keep us stitching for the afternoon!

20150127-104355.jpgJoy’s grand daughter, Miss I who is all of 7 years old, has decided she wants to be a quilter, just like her Grandmother and her Mum, and over the holidays with the help of Joy, very little help, has made this

20150127-104641.jpgMiss I’s birds had to have two wings, because Mummy’s birds have two wings! And she decided that cross stitch apples would be a great idea. Joy only had to show Miss I once and she was cross stitching away. As you can see there are, from left to right, apples, oranges and lemons in the trees. Isn’t it a sweet project? Love seeing another quilter in the making; it brings great joy to my soul!

We finished the afternoon with these

20150127-104938.jpgand waddled home, replete from the food, warmed by the friendship and nourished creatively.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Woolly bits

  1. It warms my heart to see young Miss I coming up the ranks being creative to her heart’s content. It’s important for us old timers to encourage our young to create in order to keep the quiet art of quilting alive. Thanks for sharing Miss Is work with us.

  2. Cécile says:

    Every time I read Millrose, I think…..Heaven !! Wow….
    I congratulate little Miss for her beautiful work !! An artist is born !!
    xoxo

  3. audrey says:

    Oh my, that food! It looks scrumptious.:) Very sweet to see a young girl enthused about quilting!

  4. Helen F says:

    great effort by Miss I – must be the time of year for the babies to start stitching!!!!! Its great to see well done (even though she did birds!!!!) I feel like waddling just seeing the food you ate!

  5. Helen F says:

    Forgot to ask “what did you buy?”!!!!!!

  6. Yes, I have to echo Miss Helen, what did you buy??!! Lovely to see another quilter in the making – Miss I’s work is charming.
    I could just picture you sitting working away, then having lunch …… and as for those scones – bliss!!

  7. bermudagirl says:

    Meredithe, Love those colorful birds and the friendship blocks or whatever you want to call them. That one is on my list.

  8. I love the feast of colour in this post! And I love the beyond-gorgeous quilting. *happy sigh*

  9. Em Medland says:

    What a loverleeeeey day! And a quilt to be very proud of.

  10. Jan says:

    Love that circle of colorful birds – is that yours?

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

