With a bit of elbow grease…..

Recently Several years ago, I bought this pot stand with the intention of re-vamping it.

20150117-145334.jpgAs you may know, some wheels grind slowly here at p and c, but last week I was determined to get this project done!

Pa Kettle had brought down his steel brush at Christmas time, as requested, so with that and a few other bits and pieces (kindly provided by The Golfer for my safety and welfare!)

20150117-145525.jpgI got too, and surprisingly quickly the stand was looking new!

20150117-150027.jpgNext, of course, a trip to the plant nursery was needed. After carefully measuring the pot spaces and noting them down, I was thrilled to find two black pots, the exact size, for the baskets, and after some hunting, and with the help of the nurseryman, a pot for the tray and appropriate plants. (All done, mind you, in the middle of another Melbourne, Summer downpour!)

Back home (the next day, when the sun shone), I set about with the bought bits

20150117-150413.jpgand the stand now looks like this.

20150117-150447.jpgI’m inordinately pleased with it!

Here it is with the zinnias, (oh dear, I need to get rid of that label on the big pot!)

20150117-150534.jpgand here’s my view, having a well deserved cuppa. It was a bit hard to concentrate on the book (sorry, Tif!) as I kept looking up to check out my handiwork!

20150117-150743.jpgI’m getting lots done this Summer!

How’s your Summer/Winter going! Achieving much? I do hope so.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to With a bit of elbow grease…..

  1. That was really worth the effort. I love the result.

  2. Jenny M says:

    It’s a great feeling when you can tick another job off the To Do list! Your pot plants do look lovely. We have been in our home for many years, so over the last few months we have been rejuvenating some garden beds, mulching, and DH built a fence around my veggie patch to stop our 2 dogs digging & burying their bones there. So now I have tomatoes, strawberries & herbs growing, now I just have to keep the birds away!
    PS. love your mug!

  3. You should be proud! What a transformation. And it’s always nice to see flowers in the middle of my cold winter!

  4. Jennifer G says:

    Fantastic remodel! Day well spent for sure.

  5. Kelly Callaghan says:

    Love, love love the pot stand. Its very unusual. And you’ve done a great job on it.

  6. Your plant stand looks fantastic now. It was well worth the effort.

  7. Suz says:

    That looks like it was a very satisfying little project! No wonder you wanted to admire it!

  8. Cécile says:

    You were very inspired !! So cute !!
    I love your flowers !!! 🙂

  9. thimbleanna says:

    Beautiful Mrs. P&C!!! It’s so funny to think of you basking in the sun — we’re freezing up here! Thanks for all of your inspiration!

  10. Sandy R. says:

    Love your plant stand, you did a great job on re-finishing it..and the flowers make me long for spring here in Iowa. USA. We have had some bitterly cold weather but right now for a few days our temps are above normal!! It’s been in the 50’s and even low 60’s yesterday, makes me want to plant some flowers!!

  11. Hi M
    Just catching up after being away for the weekend. I wish I could have been at Maree’s with you to sample your jam – I do love homemade jam on a scone! Love the “timelapse” photos, and your revamped plant stand is fabulous!
    Anne xoxo

  12. What a great restoration! It looks so lovely, especially complete with flowers. It’s such a nice feeling finishing projects that have been hanging around for a while, and it’s the icing on the cake when the end result looks fab too! 🙂

  13. Carole Minihan says:

    Fantastic job, planter looks lovely.

  14. Jan says:

    Looks great. Maybe I should get onto the one sitting in my backyard….?

  15. Miss E says:

    The plant stand looks lovely, M, and I can imagine the elbow grease that went into wire brushing, sanding, etc. It’s so satisfying to fix up something ‘old’ and make it beautiful again. It looks great.

  16. Andrea says:

    Your stand is just so lovely x

  17. mandymunroe says:

    Love it! – it’s a little too snowy here for flowers yet, thanks for sharing.

  18. MelodyA says:

    It is absolutely beautiful!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

