Friday stitching

A surfeit of strawberries prompted a new adventure for me on Thursday……..jam making! Yes, it was the first time I’d tried jam making and have to say I’m very pleased with the results. After chopping and weighing and stirring and watching and testing, I have three little pots of strawberry and apple jam!

20150117-141055.jpgThen when Maree asked if I’d like to stitch at her place on Friday, and invitation eagerly accepted, what better way to use the jam than with scones!

With the scones still warm from the oven, I took the arduous three minute drive to Maree’s! Five minutes later……

20150117-141609.jpgMarie had been baking too, a scrumptious raspberry and almond cake, so tasty!!

20150117-141642.jpgand Andrea had picked some of her apricots for us to savour; juicy, sweet, juicy, fresh, juicy, flavoursome apricots. And did I mention they were juicy?? I mean dribble-down-the-chin juicy, and so full of flavour…..hmmmm! Nothing like the store ones.

20150117-141859.jpgSo as we settled down for a good catch up, we just had to partake! A little bit of this…….

20150117-142039.jpgand a little bit of that……

20150117-142128.jpgMaree’s home is lovely

20150117-142201.jpg(I think she favours blue!!), and in her back garden is an enormous tree

20150117-142247.jpgwhose branches provide a canopy of gentle, dappled shade.

20150117-142402.jpgMaree has finished her “Message in a Bottle” quilt top.

20150117-142744.jpgDoesn’t it look gorgeous!

20150117-142813.jpgMaree fell in love with Irene’s pattern and has made this soooo quickly!

20150117-142914.jpgI just love it!

There was lots of other wonderful work being done; another of my Steampunk blocks, Helen’s Kaffe inspired appliqué, a binding for a baby quilt from Mrs Mac,

20150117-143000.jpgAndrea’s “Message in a Bottle” block, and Maree’s new quilt, Judy Newman’s “French Market Medallion” (using the Maru template that I designed!).

All too soon it was time to pack up and head home. Why, oh why do these afternoons pass so quickly??!! (And The Golfer and I had another scone each for supper!!)

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday stitching

  1. Marsha Smith says:

    At my house it is 9:21PM on the 16th and I will be going to bed hungry. But I will be dreaming sweet dreams of the lovely food and sewing I’ve just seen. Thank you.
    Have I told you before how much I admire your choice of fabrics in your SteamPunk blocks?

  2. Jennifer G says:

    OMG, that homemade jam looks perfect! Are all Aussies great cooks and foodies?

  3. Cécile says:

    Congrats for your jam ! I love to do it too and last year, I’ve done strawberry, BlackBerry, apricot and mirabelle jam !!
    Great work in progress !! :)))

  4. Barb Vedder says:

    Beautiful quilt, delicious treats and a beautiful spot – wow looks like a wonderful way to spend the afternoon!!

  5. Sandy R. says:

    All of the quilt projects are wonderful but the food blew me away! Since I have just gotten up and having my coffee, I would love a piece of everything you have shown. And it’s not fair to not share the recipes, especially the scones and the almond cake..would you consider it? Please? What do you have on top of the jam on you scones? I am still drooling!!

  6. Jan says:

    I’ve gained a pound just looking at those first luscious photos! How lucky you are to have such creative friends to get together with on a regular basis.

  7. Glenda says:

    What a glorious day ! Sorry I was unable to join the festivities! Next time !!!
    Loove mares quilt , and such creative stitchers !
    Xxgj

  8. Darlene says:

    Yes, recipes please! That almond cake looks marvelous!

  9. Maree says:

    It was a lovely relaxing afternoon. The scones and jam were delicious ,thank you .x

  10. What a lovely way to spend a day!

  11. bermudagirl says:

    I am impressed, homemade jam, those scones look delicious! Love the blue china and the message in a bottle quilt, amazing!!Thanks for sharing again Meredithe!
    Jodie

  12. thimbleanna says:

    Why, oh Why, do you have to live so far away??? WHY??? Those scones look amazing — especially with your newly made jam. And THEN — top it all off with all those beautiful fabrics. Well, it’s just too much for my Monday morning. I need a lie down. {Mwah!}

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

