In the garden

When I was out watering the other morning, I noticed a spider web between the hydrangea and a fern. Unfortunately I had a fight with the hose and in the process the poor spider lost his web anchors. Yes, I felt bad!

Next morning, the web was back, bigger and better, and I managed to skirt around it very carefully……..

20150112-131333.jpgCan you see it? It was a bit hard to photograph. The spider was sitting right in the middle, ready to pounce on anything resembling breakfast! How amazing are those wonderful concentric circles, all achieved in 24 hours of spinning, and quite strong as it swayed in the gentle breeze.

I also snapped the beginnings of another beautiful hydrangea

20150112-131604.jpgRather pleased with that pic!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the garden

  1. treadlemusic says:

    Webs are so gorgeous/amazing when morning dew is on them!!! Your photo is so pretty….and summery! I do hope my hydrangea blooms next summer!!!

  2. Helen F says:

    Getting “Arty” again M! I luv spider webs – especially on a frosty morning! Nice dappled pic of the hydrangea!

  3. Cécile says:

    Spiders are architects !! And they are working very fast ….. !!

  4. The spider web looks quite different to the ones we get here – who knew that British and Australian spiders use different designs for their webs! Love the photo of the hydrangea, with the dappled shadows.

  5. Barb Vedder says:

    she was a good worker! I love to see garden photos from Aussie friends this time of year!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

