Summer change

Just after Christmas I changed the quilt on the hanger in the family room, and yesterday I bought some roses when I did the green grocery shopping.

20150110-134055.jpgIt’s a delightful quilt for Summer, and as it’s been a bit gloomy the last couple of days with rain and storms, it’s a light spot in the house. (As you can see, it was so dark when I took this pic mid-morning yesterday that I had to put the lights on!! Of course, the sun is shining today, but I can’t be bothered re-taking and setting up the photos. The table is covered with light box and appliqué stuff for The Aunts’ Quilt. You don’t mind, do you?). And the roses look so lovely with it.

I hand pieced, embroidered and hand quilted this one, using a charm pack of 1930’s prints and my “Charm Baskets” template.

20150110-134315.jpg
Do you hang quilts in your home?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Summer change

  1. Hilda says:

    It’s so beautiful Meredithe – soft, fresh and vintage! Looks perfect with the roses. I have a lot of quilts hung around the house – they can definitely change the mood of the room 🙂

  2. Kyle says:

    I was thinking your quilt was a vintage one that you had rescued, but Lo and behold, you made it! Beautiful, especially with the embroidrey included. I only have two places where I can hang quilts, one is too hard to change, but other one can reflect the season or mood. That’s fun.

  3. Lorraine Stevens says:

    Yes I also was thinking it was antique. I used to hang quilts in our old house. Loved them up on the wall. Maybe in the future I will again. Love your blog. I am learning to comment and use the computer now. Thank you for showing us your days, quilts, students work, new fabrics, food, gardens, flowers, and more. Best wishes for 2015, Lorraine

  4. rachaeldaisy says:

    What a beautiful quilt, such lovely soft colours for summer days. I love the mix of pieced and embroidered blocks. I’ve spent the morning changing my quilts around, I have them hanging on every bit of wall space. I like the way changing them over every now and then can refresh a room.

  5. Marsha Smith says:

    A beautiful quilt. I love how you combined the pieced and embroidered baskets.

  6. Helen F says:

    You forgot to mention that quilt was published in “Quilters Companion”!!!!! – another one of my faves!

  7. Mary says:

    This quilt is so unique and later when you have time I know I’m not the only one who would love to see it with more light or up close. Forget the stuff on the table – no one looks at it when there’s a quilt. Yes, I like to hang quilts in my apt. and in my office at work. Anyone who stops in my office comments on them. My previous boss wanted me to hang pictures when I moved offices – she actually said, you need to do what everyone else does. Just go and buy some pictures. Funny how she had quilts inside glass frames in her office but hers were ones she bought. Guess I’m being petty. Oh well.

  8. Cécile says:

    Wow Meredithe !! How awesome your quilt is……love the colors !! I love it !! 😉
    Yes, I have 4 quilts hung in my house !
    Great Sunday !
    Xoxo

  9. A beautiful quilt, Meredithe! Yes, I have three quilts on the walls, and only one on a bed.
    Kerry

  10. I love the quilt – it has that delightful faded look. I have some quilts hanging up in the house, and some in the studio. I also have quite a few framed embroideries and counted cross stitch pictures on the walls, from way back before I discovered quilting!

  11. treadlemusic says:

    I so love how you interspersed the pieced baskets with the embroidery….so “heirloom”! It could pass for a treasure from the distant past.

  12. Sandra Lee says:

    Beautiful Mereidithe x

  13. Annie Andrews says:

    Love the quilt, have you washed it to get that wonderful old look, I only have space to hang one quilt since we down sized and Alice fits well, so they are piled up on the floor, back of couches and of course beds, love the roses.

  14. thimbleanna says:

    I love that quilt! I love the setting and the combo of embroidered blocks and pieced — just perfect. I only have one quilt that is hung — just not enough wall space!!!

  15. bermudagirl says:

    Meredithe, what a lovely quilt, love the baskets and the lovely vintage fabric, that must have been a lot of hard work!!!
    Jodie

  16. IRENE GOULDEN says:

    Dear Meredithe,
    Love the basket quilt, I have the templates and keep looking at them, have cut out 1 block, but the problem is the handle, what is the easiest way of making the half inch strip into quarter inch bias handle?
    Love reading you blog, keep up the good work.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

