Plans awry

A few of us got together yesterday, purportedly to sew all day, but………

We gathered early and enjoyed a cuppa and a chat,

20150107-154048.jpgduring which I lamented the fact that I didn’t have enough fabric to bind the quilt I picked up from the quilters last week. Before you could say “fabric”, we were in a car heading to Treehouse Textiles!!

I do like this store; Emma has made it a go-to haven with a friendly atmosphere, beautiful fabrics to choose from and great service. As an added bonus, Cathy was there too, and after showing her my quilt, she asked what I’d had in mind. I had been thinking either orange or yellow. Cathy immediately produced The Perfect Yellow, but to satisfy my curiosity I chose an orange, which turned out to be The Perfect Orange! What to do?? Because, of course, I couldn’t decide which one……..so I’ve bought both and will do a half/half binding!

20150107-154749.jpg(which I was going to do today, but it’s 32 degrees, humid, and we’ve just been hit with a massive thunderstorm and lost power!! Tomorrow will be fine!)

My companions also dabbled in a bit of fabric consumption, then it was back to a late lunch

20150107-155009.jpgand lots of convivial chat accompanying the food and bubbles!

20150107-155101.jpg(I made that bag too.)

Before we could get needle and thread to fabric, it was time to leave, so our sewing day sorta kinda turned into a shopping/eating day! All my fault!!

Back home, The Golfer suggested dinner at the golf club and as I’m not one to turn down a meal I don’t have to cook, we dined out on the balcony at the club with this for our view.

20150107-155503.jpgAs you can see, it was a spectacular evening, warm and calm, and ideal for outdoor dining. While enjoying our meal, kookaburras serenaded us from the trees, then these boys came for a visit

20150107-155721.jpgand they warbled a song or two too.

A delightful way to end a lovely day.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Plans awry

  1. Barbara Varnava says:

    Yes Meredithe,

    I think you made the right decision by buying the two fabrics, also what a great way to end the day, love the birds. Barbara

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Cécile says:

    Hello M !
    As usual, you took the right decision : yellow mixed orange …that’s great !!
    Happy binding ! 😉

  3. Wow….the perfect Aussie summer day…..

  4. Sue Whitburn says:

    Happy new year, enjoying your blog as always and now have found (thank you) a new patchwork shop to put on my list of ‘places I HAVE to visit’!!!! Xxx

  5. lyn lindsay says:

    Ah Meredithe you do ‘friendship’ well you and your gals, you look like you enjoy those get togethers, lovely, looking forward to seeing the quilt you headed off to Treehouse for…the dinner suggestion was a goodie, I am looking forward to seeing all of what you do, you inspire me and you don’t even know me, so be encouraged Meredithe, have a great, great 2015.
    Lyn, Brisbane

  6. rachaeldaisy says:

    I love that you found 2 perfect bindings, much better than none! Yummy foodie photos and dinner al fresco with the birds sounds wonderful.

  7. Good fabric choices! I have a little piece of screen printed fabric that I bought at Treehouse Textiles – it hasn’t got on to the to-do list yet!
    I would have been drooling over the food, but I have just been cutting up, and nibbling on, a batch of chocolate fudge with cranberries and sour cherries (I only had breakfast an hour ago!!)

  8. Fiona Lazenby says:

    What a lovely day you had topped off with not having to cook dinner. Have seen a picture of the quilt on Treehouse’s fb page, it is gorgeous.

  9. Helen F says:

    Oh M – you dined on the “terrace” as well!!!!!! Luv the half and half idea – it is becoming a trend with you when you can’t decide!!

  10. thimbleanna says:

    You guys are so funny — it looks like it doesn’t take much to distract you — I’m going to have to start cracking the whip LOL! Binding looks great — love the little bag you sewed — and it looks like a perfect day!

  11. cloudcoucou says:

    Catching up with blogs after neglecting mine! Sounds like a lovely day! Looking forward to seeing the finished binding 🙂

  12. treadlemusic says:

    Ok…….I simply MUST get this out………..IT’S NOT FAIR!!!!!!…….sigh, well I don’t feel that much better – or warmer – but I just had to……anyhow, it appears that the double choice was a very good one as I really like both, too. Your lunch/nosh was awesome!!! You gals really put the “bar” at such a level it’s most unattainable!!!! Your evening meal on the veranda was, indeed, the perfect ending……hugs…………………from the beyond frozen Midwest (see post for Wordless Wednesday)

  13. audrey says:

    You have the very best enablers, I mean friends! lol Sounds like a fabulous day.:)

  14. Felicity says:

    Love that bag – but particularly the fabulous fabric!! Is there a tutorial for it? Really enjoy your blog, such industry too!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

