Impromptu stitching

A series of texts and phone calls led to a delightful impromptu sewing afternoon on New Year’s Day at Miss Helen’s home, the perfect way to start off 2015!!

Helen managed to rustle up a yummy afternoon tea

20150103-065826.jpgnot that we really needed any…………!

Helen has been working on some gorgeous appliqué

20150103-065926.jpg(I made her the bag on the left) and I don’t think she’ll be running out of stems for a while!

20150103-070037.jpg
We helped Mrs Mac choose the next couple of rounds for this project

20150103-070251.jpgand she’s working on this sweet one for a new baby in her family, which will be arriving soon

20150103-070624.jpgand I was Steampunk-ing…….show you soon.

The Hot has arrived; it was 39 degrees yesterday and it hasn’t dropped much under 30 overnight making sleeping difficult. I’ve been awake since 4.30, up since 5.00 sitting under the fan and catching up on emails and blogs. A hot north wind is already blowing outside and the forecast is for 41! Best go and water my pots…..ooh, water, cool, cool water!!

If you’re Down Under, stay cool; if you’re north of the equator, stay warm!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Impromptu stitching

  1. Jennifer G says:

    Happy New Year Meredithe! I hope this isn’t a duplicate comment, because I have already tried it once and I don’t think it stuck… Love the treats and group sewing activities! Great start for you this year!

  2. Heather B. says:

    Happy New Year Meredithe! I love that you and the ladies are into your beautiful sewing from day one of 2015! What a great start to the year. I hope you can find some relief from the heat.

  3. Glendacust says:

    What gorgeous projects Helen and mrs Mac!!
    Seems ages since I’ve seen u !!
    Enjoy 2015, hope it’s a good one !!
    Love gjxxx

  4. Pip says:

    What a nice way to spend New Year’s Day, love all the Kaffe applique, and The Hot is an extremely good way to describe the current hot weather, the Northern Territory has The Wet season and we now have The Hot. Hope you have a wonderful 2015.

  5. Cécile says:

    What a great start for the first day of the year ! The projects are amazing…..concerning the temperature I make a deal with you : please, send me hot weather and I will sent to you some snow…this week, the temperatures fall down to…. -15 degrees ! Brrrrr !!
    Happy quilting !

  6. treadlemusic says:

    We could use some of your “Hot” here in the US……everywhere in the US!!! It’s cold coast to coast and border to border!!!! Amazing tea setting! Just the perfect way to begin the new year!!!

  7. Mary says:

    Send me the 39 degrees C and I’ll trade you our 39 degrees F. And that’s in southern California. By Sunday we should be back up to 60 which is tolerable but not warm enough for my bones. I love the Steampunk – can’t wait to see it. My local quilt shop is going to get the pattern for me at Spring Market so meanwhile I can set aside fabrics and drool long distance.

  8. mandymunroe says:

    Happy New Year Meredithe, lovely projects as usual and all that hand sewing, divine!

  9. Lovely sewing, delicious food …….. but you can keep the heat! It was wet and windy here on Thursday and Friday, but better today. We’re off to Berwick in the morning, and hopefully will be able to have a walk on the beach!!

  10. rachaeldaisy says:

    Gorgeous sewing – what a perfect way to spend New Years Day! It’s been hot enough here but not as hot as Melbourne!! Thank goodness for fans and cool sewing indoors.

  11. Cardygirl says:

    Lovely stitching…hope it cools for you soon!

  12. Kyle says:

    Impromptu is so fun. It’s like an extra special day. Love all the projects. I just figured it out. There’s a difference of about 90° between your house and mine. Happy New Year!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

