Escaping

The Golfer and I decided to put aside the cares of the world today and head out to our favourite escape destination, with the ubiquitous fish ‘n’ chips for lunch.

20141208-174109.jpgThen, instead of a walk around Sorrento’s shops, we opted to go on to Portsea, then to the Point Nepean National Park. Until recently, this was a military area and not open to the public, but it’s now a beautiful park with walks and the original Quarantine Buildings which have been opened as museum type areas.

We took just a short walk to the Observation Point, where the authorities could view ships coming in through the Heads

20141208-174824.jpgand if the ship showed a yellow quarantine flag, could direct them to the wharf

20141208-174701.jpg On our walk there and back, we were the only ones on the track; all we could hear was the breeze through the tee-tree, cicadas and birds – so restful. The highlight of the day, though, was spotting an echidna. I’ve never seen an echidna in the wild. By the time I got my phone set up in camera mode he’d ducked down a burrow. On the way back he was out again! I tried to be very quiet, but they must have acute hearing……this is the best I could do. You can just make out his spines in the middle of the photo.

20141208-175846.jpgWe drove onto the Quarantine area, parked the car and took a stroll around the buildings in the sunshine.

Can you see the words on this flag?

20141208-175025.jpgIt reads “Foul Luggage Store”; not only were people quarantined, but all their clothing and luggage too. There’s some interesting information and photos about lots of early ships that were quarantined, mostly for influenza around 1918 (Spanish flu?), but quite a few for smallpox too.

These buildings were the hospitals

20141208-175322.jpgGotta love this government gobble-de-gook!

20141208-175409.jpgThere’s an information centre too

20141208-175518.jpg
I shall do an Anne now and show my attempts at “arty pics”!!

20141208-180028.jpg

20141208-180043.jpgThe rusty barbed wire is for you Anne!

20141208-180122.jpgFeeling relaxed and refreshed now, ready to face a busy week!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Escaping

  1. What a wonderful day to share together. Perhaps I will put those regulations up in my house to baffle the kids if they are not adhering to the rules hahaha

  2. rachaeldaisy says:

    I used to spend school holidays in Sorrento, the trees and light in your photos brought back memories. How special that you saw an echidna! I loved your art photos.

  3. I knew as soon as I saw the fish and chips that you were in Sorrento (ah happy memories)!! It also reminded me of our four nights in what was the quarantine station and is now the Q Station hotel in Sydney – some of which is presented in a similar way with the stories of the ships coming in. I LOVE your arty shots – thanks for the barbed wire!!
    It snowed yesterday – fortunately just a little, but it has frozen overnight ……. brrrrr!!!

  4. Cécile says:

    Oh my……I love fish and chips !! 🙂
    Thank you for sharing these lovely photos to your romantic escape ! 😉

  5. treadlemusic says:

    Ironically, the word that popped to mind was “pristine”…..in contrast to the original purpose of the settlement!! Love your “artsy” photos….and did spot the ‘spines’! Although it’s breakfast time here, those fish and chips look mighty appetizing!!!!!!!

  6. thimbleanna says:

    Oh Yum! Fish and Chips! What a great little getaway — and perfect to take a little break before the mad rush begins!

  7. Sandy R. says:

    OH my gosh, that fish and chips looks good, I can even smell it…Your little trip looks wonderful, so quiet and relaxing!! I had to look up the echidna, didn’t know what it was at all…looks rather like a porcupine..weird looking little animal..

  8. Eileen McNeilly says:

    Lovely thoughts and an inspiring suggestion for a couple of days of “us” time for my golfer and self

  9. Hilda says:

    Beautiful photos – and an interesting site to explore. Nice you had a relaxing break!

    • Janet says:

      I had never heard of an Echidna before. My kids and I had a marvellous time learning about them from the internet. Thanks for sharing your adventure!!

  10. Helen F says:

    Glad you had a nice day with “B”!! Those fish and chips look delectable!!!! Great artsy shots M!! Its great when you have the whole area to yourself with no other “tourists” around!! VERY RELAXING!!!! – just what you needed!! x

  11. Janet says:

    Sorry my comment showed up as a reply to Hilda – I have no idea how I did that??

  12. Andrea says:

    Beautiful photos. Love driftwood, sea, beaches, it’s relaxing and free!

  13. Miss E says:

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos 🙂 I was at Rye a couple of weeks back with the girls in the family. Having seen your photos, I wish we’d ducked down to Point Lonsdale – it looks gorgeous.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

