It’s Giveaway Time!!

Last weekend AQM (Australian Quilt Market) was on and I worked there for my erstwhile employer. For those of you that don’t know, AQM is like the Houston of Australia but on a much smaller scale; it’s where wholesalers get to show retailers from your LQS new fabrics and products that will be coming your way next year. We were pretty busy, so I didn’t get out much to see what’s on offer, but………..

My new templates were released and I can now show you how they make up AND give YOU the opportunity to win a set!

First, let’s have a look at the blocks.

Number one is “Jinxed!”, so named because you’ll be jinxed if you don’t have one of the templates going the correct way (your block will just rotate the other way – nothing bad!!)

20141125-111730.jpgIt’s a great block to play with colours, and me thinks there could be some interesting secondary patterns once the blocks are stitched together!

The second is “Aunt Sophie”, a sweet block made up of kites, diamonds and triangles.

20141125-111949.jpgA secondary pattern of squares on point should happen at the corners of multiple blocks.

Lastly “Alice’s Cross”. I drafted this block after watching the final episode of ANZAC Girls and was so touched by this fact based series. Alice Ross-King was only one of 7 Australian Army Nurses to receive the Military Medal in WW1. This block is a tribute to Alice and all the other nurses who braved those terrible conditions while nursing our war wounded.

20141125-112616.jpg
This giveaway is easy – just comment on this post………but please do say if you have a preference for a particular template set. I’ll do my best to accommodate!

Giveaway closes next Tuesday, 2nd December, 2014 at midnight, Australian time.

Best of luck my lovelies!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to It’s Giveaway Time!!

  1. Mandy says:

    What fabulous templates! I especially love Alice’s Star

  2. Suzanne says:

    You are always so generous with your templates. They are the best too!
    Still working on the parsons geeses blocks with the templates from last years giveaway.
    I’ve been enjoying your posts with all the show and tells!

  3. Quilter 501 says:

    How could I chose which one I would want most? I love ALL your templates! You are amazing!

  4. Helen F says:

    M they look terrific – especially you “jinxed” one the coloure combination turned out well!!!!

  5. I like Alice’s Star. Your fabric choices make it look wonderful.

  6. Ann says:

    I love Auntie Sophie!! She is beautiful.

  7. Lynette Balchin says:

    I have a friend in China who is worried about using colour. I am going to tell her to look at your blog. That should allay her fears. Love Jinxed the most.

  8. Ali Fergusson says:

    Hi again Meredithe! ….. been waiting in anticipation of the latest release.
    I love all your templates and if I should be lucky enough to be drawn I’ve be most happy with Alice’s Star…..what a terrific TV series and what a wonderful portrayal of a very brave woman.
    all the very best
    Ali
    Sydney

  9. Some interesting blocks, like them all so not an easy choice but my first favourite block would be Aunt Sophie.

  10. Barbara Varnava says:

    Great templates it’s hard to choose because they are all so beautiful and the colour combinations stand out. I think for myself I like Aunt Sophie the best but I understand how you would feel about Alice’s Star, my husband and I had a similar experience when we visited the River Kwie a few years ago.

  11. Pat Andrew says:

    Fabulous templates – I love them all but at the moment I can see the Jinxed set would be perfect for the pile of shirtings I have – then again Alice’s Star might be ……..
    Congratulations and well done.

  12. Suz says:

    Firstly I figure your giveaway lasts until 2nd December (yes, I know the year is running away from us!) I like the star in “Aunt Sophie”!

  13. Fiona Lazenby says:

    Congratulations on your new templates. You are such a clever lady. As much as I love all 3, Alice’s Star would be my first choice.

  14. simone visser says:

    “jinxed” indeed, that’s me you make my life so much easier for me…

  15. What a great tribute to name your template after such an amazing person as Alice Ross-King (and her fellow nurses). I love Aunt Sophie, and your terrific choice of fabrics adds to its impact.

  16. Lynette Holmes says:

    I love looking at and reading your blog. Your neww patterns look great. I really like number three and number one. Thanks for the chance to enter your giveaway.

  17. Janine says:

    looking great. Love the Cross block .

  18. Meran says:

    If I really have to choose, it would be jinxed! They all look great. I do prefer machine piecing. I enjoy your blogs, and it makes me feel quite slack, as I don’t sew nearly as much as I would like.

  19. Debbie says:

    Very generous Meredithe once again. I love them all . But if I was pressed Aunt Sophie just beats Alice’s Star and Jinxed. Thank you for your generosity

  20. barbara woods says:

    I could use either of them, thanks

  21. Marsha Smith says:

    My favorite for both your design and choice of fabrics is Alice’s Star. Where do you find the time? You are always so busy. I’m going to start watching ANZAC Girls tonight. Thanks.

  22. Susan creer says:

    What a great collection and achievement for you. Aunt Sophie is fabulous, could definitely make this for my granddaughter Sophie. Pink and green are a bonus as they are favourite colours for me. Another hand project to start when I finish steampunk which was started when I saw yours. Susan Creer Scarborough WA.

  23. Roslyn McGovern says:

    Please enter me in your template giveaway. I enjoy hand sewing Meredithe, and your templates would make it more accurate.

  24. Karen Mactier says:

    Yum !!!!!,

  25. suemcphee says:

    Where can i buy all your “new” Templates

  26. audrey says:

    Love Alice’s Star especially. You really do have a wonderful collection of templates.:)

  27. Cécile says:

    I love them all…..bravo Meredithe !! 🙂

  28. Cheryle Read says:

    Love your work and so enjoy following your blog 😃

  29. Maree says:

    I love them all too .Dito Cecile . Well done x

  30. yoka says:

    They are alle beautiful, but I would choose Jinxed.

  31. Another excellent set of templates – you are such a clever girl!! Please don’t put me in the draw, as I am fortunate enough to already own some of your super templates!

  32. Melissa says:

    Aunt Sophie and Alice’s star are my faves but honestly they are all lovely. Thanks for the chance to go in the draw. Although I rarely comment on your blog, I really enjoy seeing all your pics every week. I read very few emails as my inbox overflows most days, but I always check out what you and your buddies are up to. Thanks

  33. Ruth says:

    I love all of your blocks. Thank you for sharing…. Finding it hard to pick a favourite…maybe Jinxed!

  34. Bernard May says:

    Dear Meridithe, I just love your blog. I am guessing you really meant closing date was 2nd December not November …. LOL! Thanks for the opportunity to enter for you fabbo templates.’I would love Aunt Sophie, but would be most appreciative of any one of those great sets.

  35. Eileen McNeilly says:

    Hello Meredithe & all disciples of your wonderful work.
    Have to agree with all glowing comments, but leaning a preference to Alice’s Star. Not only the tribute, but ability for me to imagine so many fabric/colour combinations.

  36. Tricia k says:

    They all look great Meredith
    I’m impressed you made Alice’s Star while watching tv

  37. Ann says:

    Oh Meredithe, you’re so so clever. They’re all gorgeous!!

  38. lyn lindsay says:

    Love the blocks Meredithe well done, like the Aunt Sophie block, thanks for the opportunity for a chance to win. Clever girl!
    Lyn

  39. M you are amazing. Love the block for the to commemorate the ANZAC nurses.

  40. Sue Whitburn says:

    Your inspiration for creating your templates are, as always, a-mazing!!! 😀 you must spend all of your dream-time on them?!!! Loved the Anzac girls so that template is a must!! Your blog Is a joy Meredithe- I don’t always comment, but receive enormous pleasure reading all your tip bits! Thank you xxxxx

  41. L says:

    I could never be lonely with your blog community to connect to. Such friendly posts!. Aunt Sophie looks perfect for fussy cutting.

  42. Jo le Cheminant says:

    I love all your blocks but Jinxed is one I would most love to make.

  43. treadlemusic says:

    I am in love with these!!!! Especially the first 2!!!!! Your “creative mojo” is in ‘over-drive’!!!!!! Hugs…….

  44. Ann Thompson says:

    I love all your templates, but my favorite of the new ones is jinxed….. the motion and the secondary design possibilities are awesome! Thank you!!

  45. Karen H says:

    All three are great blocks but I am partial to Alice’s Star because I like the look of the block and the story behind it. Thanks for the chance to win!

  46. Trudy Wassink says:

    That is a difficult chose: all three are beauties. And what a colorful blocks. Nr 3 for me, of I am THE lucky one

  47. Callista Garman says:

    They are all wonderful. I love the sentiment of block three’s name but the second one would be fun to do

  48. What a lovely prize for a giveaway. I just posted about your fab templates recently. Good luck to everyone who has posted a comment to enter the draw.

  49. Joanne Patton says:

    What great blocks! I love them all.

  50. Cardygirl says:

    Great templates…I like Alice’s star….I like how you chose its name too!

  51. Sarah says:

    Thank you so much for the giveaway! What beautiful blocks. I like the star the best! Congratulations on having your templates made!

  52. Love all of them, favorite have to be number two.

  53. Sandra Lee says:

    Love your fabric choices Meredithe , always nice n bright. Love Aunt Sophie & Alice x

  54. Janet Lucas says:

    I always love reading your posts…the blocks are super!!!! Love aunt Sophie …your fabric choices are inspiring

  55. Susan says:

    Aunt Sophie would be my first choice. To win a give away would be great no matter what. By the way, I was out shopping for back ground fabric today….. it is time to start Steam Punk now that I have the templates!!!!

  56. Karen Reid says:

    Congratulations on a wonderful series of templates. Your colour choice and how you name them is wonderful. Aunt Sophie is beautiful.

  57. Sandy B says:

    They are all lovely Meredithe. Well done on your growing collection of templates. I enjoyed watching the Anzac Girls too, as did my husband. I thought the Matron was particularly good in how she stood up for her nurses. Thanks for your lovely blog.

  58. Robyn of Robyn's Nest says:

    Meridithe, may I say I’m just a bit envious of your talent! I love them all but if i had to pick one it would be ‘Alices Star’, wasn’t Anzac Girls a fabulous series. There’s one scene that’s still stuck in my head. One of the nurses was on deck looking at the ships around the one she was on, when she sees something unusual in the water, in that split second while she’s wondering BLAST she & the ship were gone, it was a missile. What a shock to the system that scene was !

  59. Helen Yann says:

    They all look fab, so I don’t mind!

  60. Cheryl Serafini says:

    Meredithe, you are just so clever and you know Jinxed has to be mine cos damn sure i’ll have one (or more) the wrong way……

  61. Mary says:

    I like Aunt Sophie but the one named Alice also catches my fancy!

  62. Kerry O'Meara says:

    Love them all, but really like Aunt Sophie and Alice’s Star. Thanks for the giveaway.

  63. Carolyn says:

    Thank you for the give away! All the templates are wonderful as they offer so many colour and fabric opportunities.

  64. Margaret Gross says:

    I can’t choose between Aunt Sophie and Alice’s Star. Love you color combinations, so different from my usual choices. Margaret

  65. Elisabeth says:

    Meredithe, you are so talented and generous. I am enjoying working my way through your other templates. Your templates have opened up a world of creativity for my hand piecing. I just love Aunt Sophie and Alice’s Cross, but I would be content with any of the three. Thank you.

  66. mandymunroe says:

    Jinxed would be my choice, love your hand piecing 🙂

  67. thimbleanna says:

    Great blocks Meredithe! I couldn’t decide between the last two — I love them both!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

