Having a yarn

GJ took me on an excursion on Monday, no, not fabric related this time, but yarn! We had a fabulous morning exploring two yarn stores on t’other side of town to us.

The first was woolarium where Sharon made us very welcome as we explored her shelves of colour

20141117-142705.jpgwalls of colour

20141117-142828.jpgtubes of colour

20141117-142854.jpgand quirky displays

20141117-143213.jpg(loved this cabled cowl……think I may have to go back and get pattern and yarn!!)

20141117-143255.jpgThey have some great classes and a sit and crochet/knit on Sundays – which sounds very tempting!

20141117-143358.jpg
Our second stop was Yarn + Co, where again we were heartily welcomed. Chris also has a lovely store, with a great sit and crochet/knit area for Sundays, again a very tempting prospect (don’t you love all the cushions?!)

20141117-143752.jpgbeautiful yarns and lots of samples to peruse

20141117-144037.jpgand ’twas there that I succumbed to the call of Lucy’s CAL, a call which has become louder and louder with each post from her (I know, I should stop reading it…..but who can??!!).

So here’s my chosen 15

20141117-144410.jpgAren’t they gotgeous??!!

No, no idea when I’ll start.

Yes, I do know I have several other things on the go at the moment.

But hey, that never stopped Margaret Olley!

I highly recommend both these stores for a visit if you’re into yarny things…….and even if you’re not, you may very well be inspired to be!

Much love
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Having a yarn

  1. Suz says:

    I’m putting these on my ‘must visit’ list before next winter! By that time I might have my latest knitting project finished! I look forward to seeing what you make from that cotton blend!

  2. Wow that is real inspiration to pick up some knitting needles again. Love your cotton blend colours.

  3. Helen F says:

    Ha M – you read my mind – I was admiring the colours and thought to myselt “when is she going to start this???” scolled down and you answered my question!!!! gorgeous colours!!!!

  4. Cocopatch says:

    hum, these shops are amazing!

  5. Cécile says:

    You Know, Meredithe, as I always used to say, fabrics and wool are not perishable !! 😉
    So keep going on and be inspired !!
    Have a great day !

  6. It’s just as well we didn’t visit them, or I would have had a lot of excess baggage. I must start knittinng again – I think I will have to split my evening into three instead of two -at the moment I’m doing bloggy things till 8pm, then EPP for Mrs B until bedime at 10 – I think it will have to be EPP until 9, then knitting till 10.
    Damp and dreary this morning, but with a forecast of better things to come!

  7. Glendacust says:

    What a fun day morning!
    Colour and inspiration everywhere!!!
    Gjxxx

  8. Those colours look so inspiring. I reckon I’ll start CAL before Xmas

  9. thimbleanna says:

    Hey! I think I went to both of those stores. I completely forgot about Yarn & Co, and I couldn’t remember the name of Woolarium — I LOVED that shop!!! Looks like great fun!

  10. Andrea says:

    Aww..just gorgeous selection and shop. I just know this a must visit shop! Thank you.
    I noticed at Mornington market some very sweet crochet patchwork blankets with flower embroidered in the centre, the were 3 x 3 inch squares not big. Could be fun. Aj x

  11. Maree says:

    Very GORGEOUS !! Must re-learn to crochet

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

