Cook or chef?

Do you like to cook? Me? I have to be in the mood.

But I’m a great recipe collector; you know, the trawling through the weekend newspaper’s magazines, admiring the photography, reading the recipe, whetting the appetite…….

Trouble is, I end up with a pile like this, shoved into the back of a recipe book

20141025-115109.jpgSo, high time to do some sorting. There were several “why on earth did I clip that one?”, and anything with extraordinary ingredients got the chop, and some “I don’t even like crime caramel – why is this here??!!”

20141025-115420.jpgEventually they were sorted and trimmed

20141025-115447.jpgand duly pasted into the recipe book/s set aside for the purpose.

20141025-115521.jpgThere are several tasty looking salad recipes, and with Summer coming up, they’ll be good to try out! The ones with the tick have already been tried and approved.

20141025-115616.jpgNow I just need to remember to consult the book before going shopping!! Remind me, huh?! Thanks!

So, are you a recipe collector too?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cook or chef?

  1. Suz says:

    Been there, done that! With the internet nowadays its easier to bookmark, pin, save to favourites on Taste.com or randomly search! Besides, it takes up much less space! And I work on the theory of using what’s in the cupboard and fridge, then find the recipe!

  2. Mary says:

    Thanks for the great idea of cutting and pasting them!

  3. PipP says:

    umm, yes, I collect recipes, when I saw the first photo I thought you had sneaked into my kitchen as that is exactly what my collection looks like, a timely reminder for me to do a bit of culling methinks.

  4. Helen F says:

    Are we going to be the guinea pigs???

  5. rachaeldaisy says:

    I used to be but just threw my recipe file out recently in a big clean up. It’s so easy to look up recipies on the internet these days, though your book looks much more lovely.

  6. Cécile says:

    I’m french and I like to cook !! Yessss !! And specially during the WE when all my family is joined !
    Every thursday, I write on my list all the ingredients to do the recipes and go to the supermarket to buy them !! But I prefer salt and no sugar …( I don’t the expression in englig, sorry)
    And you Meredithe, what do you prefer ?

  7. Kerry says:

    I do exactly that! My trick though is not to stick them in until I have tried them. That way, if they are yucky, I don’t waste the space on them. Having said that, I have a big pile to ‘try’…..

  8. Glenda says:

    Looks very enticing and creative !

  9. I love cooking and have lots of books, as well as a notebook filled with recipes from magazines etc. I’m looking forward to getting home and getting back in the kitchen!

  10. barbvedder says:

    I am! i have them on devices, in folders, on cards – oy

  11. patchworkrose says:

    Photograph the recipe with your phone so that you have the ingredients listed when you shop. I do it all the time. Must confess to having recipes collected in the back of my cookbooks too. You are good trimming them. I have yet to do that. 🙂

  12. treadlemusic says:

    Huge collector!!! My challenge…..remember where the recipe is located????? Church cookbooks abound at my home!!!!!!! LOL!

  13. thimbleanna says:

    Haha — we cut and paste way too much over here. My mom has so many boxes of clipped recipes – it’s a big joke. One day, we had a little challenge — my sister and I each reached in and blindly grabbed a recipe — the deal was that we had to make it. I found a great recipe that way — we need to do that again!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

