Out to the Dandenongs

(Or as Patty 2 would say….out to the daddy-dogs!)

<a href="http://Patty Harants and her friend Patty (Patty 1 and Patty 2 to avoid confusion!) have arrived for Quilts in the Barn and Patty 1 entertained an enthusiastic crowd on Thursday evening with her lecture.

On Friday we left Patty 1 and her students in the capable hands of GJ, and Linda, Brenda, Patty 2 and I spent a glorious Spring day up in the Dandenongs (Patty had trouble with our accent and understanding the name!)

20141003-185108.jpgOf course it was a must to take our visitors to Miss Marple’s Tearoom for lunch where we shared a couple of Ploughman’s

20141003-185953.jpgand between the four of us this wicked indulgence!

20141003-190040.jpg(Good thing we’d eaten our veggies and greens!)

Then it was a short walk to tealeaves, a shop filled with all manner of “tea” related products, pots, pieces and particulars!

20141003-190231.jpg(one of the red and white spotty teapots – middle, right hand pic – came home with me!)

The shop next door had buckets of stunning daffodils, some of which I’d never seen before!

20141003-190419.jpgA short drive took us to the Skyhigh Lookout for views over Melbourne and suburbs

20141003-190619.jpg

20141003-190646.jpgyou might just be able to make out the city skyscrapers in the centre of this pic.

20141003-190705.jpgThis peacock (peahen?) was strutting his (her?) stuff around the cafe

20141003-190746.jpgand these girls posed for a pic!

20141003-190814.jpg(Patty 2, Brenda, Linda)

Our last stop was a lookout over Silvan Reservoir

20141003-191008.jpgI’m so glad Melbourne turned on the weather for our US visitors.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Out to the Dandenongs

  1. Carole says:

    Thanks for sharing your adventures and I hope Brenda and Patty are enjoying the best of Melbourne and surrounds. More beautiful weather today.

  2. Nice to see your pictures as it brings back memories to an enjoyable visit to the Dandenongs last year. Definitely a beautiful piece of the world.

  3. Rachel Boxshall says:

    These pictures make me homesick…thank-you for sharing them.

  4. Cécile says:

    The suburbs aroud Melbourne are beautiful !!
    And the teapots….wow ! If I’m lucky and I go to Melbourne , I will buy one of them !
    Good evening !
    Oh ! I forgot : thank you for sharing your trip !

  5. Lovely … I’m grabbing my daughter miss m and heading to the tea shop ASAP ….

  6. Helen F says:

    Ha my eye went straight to the red spotty teapot and I instantly thought “M”!!!!

  7. Been there, done that!! Happy memories!

  8. Forgot to say, it’the peacock which has the long tail and wonderful colours, the peahen is a bit drab.

  9. thimbleanna says:

    Hmmm. Did I go to the Daddy Dogs??? Maybe when I went to the animal park? I’m so confused. And obviously I’m not as important as your current visitors — I got rain LOL!!!

  10. rachaeldaisy says:

    What a perfect day out with some beautiful sights of Melbourne. I bet your special guests enjoyed themselves. The view from sky high is amazing isn’t it. I went to a wedding there years ago, the view made a wonderful backdrop.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

