Eliott Stitchers and a special treat!

Tuesday was Eliott Stitchers (and we finally got to see the next episode!). We dined magnificently on this spread

20140917-160720.jpgwhich included home made bread! (From GJ this time – and scummy it was too!)

Linda showed us a layout of her hexagons

20140917-160851.jpgMiss H has this beautiful tin

20140917-161001.jpgwhich she’s lined

20140917-161039.jpgLovely, isn’t it?

And GJ, the trendsetter, has finished her “Hitchhiker” scarf

20140917-161218.jpgSo soft and pretty.

I left early as I had a dinner to go to…….with Jan and, all the way from the US of A……Anna of thimbleanna fame!!!. I was so excited to meet in person this lovely lady whose blog I so enjoy reading, with her quirky sense of humour, fun family events (the gingerbread house competition is my favourite!), and gorgeous projects and quilts.

Jan had decided that she’d treat Anna to a real Aussie dinner, so there were delicious prawns for starters, then a scrumptious roast lamb, roast vegies and all the trimmings for mains. Anna and I were so busy chatting I forgot pics of Jan’s fabulous food, but I did take one of Jan’s beautiful camellias

20140917-162714.jpgI’d offered to bring dessert and had decided on raspberry clafoutis until Jan mentioned the “Aussie” thing, so then I thought……pavlova!! At this stage I should have gone to the supermarket and bought a pav case ready to fill, as I’ve only ever made two in my life, but Oh No!, Mrs Smartypants thought she’d make one. To cut a long story short, I ruined the first lot of eggs with yolk, ran out of vinegar and had to dash to the supermarket, and must have had the oven too hot as it ended up with a burnt bottom and was as flat as a pancake!

20140917-162506.jpgStill, it looked ok, and, as the old family saying goes, the bit between the raw bit and the burnt bit was delicious! As this was Anna’s first pav, I do hope she gets to taste a “real” one before leaving Australia!

20140917-162938.jpg(Jan, Anna, me)

We had a great night, with lots of talk on quilting, travel, and differences in culture, but also lots of laughter! And it was great to finally meet someone I’ve come to call a friend, from the Internet!

20140917-163250.jpg
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eliott Stitchers and a special treat!

  1. Cécile says:

    Oh my God !! I think you are going to open a restaurant if you go on like this !! Hi ! Hi !
    Hexies are so cute and Linda’s TOP will be gorgeous !
    Bravo for GJ and its scarf ! So pretty !
    And the photos of you….you are three lovely and beautiful ladies !
    Another wonderful day ! 🙂

  2. I am so,so,so,so,so envious that you got to have dinner with Anna. I still can’t believe that when she was in Scotland I was in Australia, and now she’s in Australia I’m in Scotland!! Oh well, maybe one day we’ll meet somewhere in the middle!!

  3. rachaeldaisy says:

    How wonderful that you got to meet Anna in real life. The Aussie dinner you made sounds wonderful, I bet the pav was delicious even if it was a bit flat.

  4. treadlemusic says:

    Meeting Bloggy Friends is THE BEST!!!!!! You 3 are so lovely!!!! For the Pavs that I make, I use the egg whites I find in the cake decorating section that are powdered and, when reconstituted, are the perfect answer to every recipe requiring such!!!!!
    The hexies are amazing. Love the clever tin dec!!! And that scarf is so wonderful, too. That first food photo really got me!!! The phrase “traveling on our stomachs” comes to mind!! LOL!!! Better yet: Friends….Fun….Food & Laughter……total blessings!!! Hugs from the “other side”!! ……….

  5. thimbleanna says:

    OhMyGosh Meredithe – you are toooo cute!!! It was SO fun to meet you – what a wonderful night. It was a perfect Aussie dinner and your pav (my first – yay, I’m no longer a PAV virgin!!!) was Divine!!!! Thank you for remembering to take a pic – I was out of it all night. I’m so sorry I didn’t get pictures of all of your beautiful quilts – what was I thinking???? THANK YOU to you and Jan for taking such good care of me!!!

  6. Kyle says:

    How fun to meet in person. You all look lovely together!

  7. Miriam says:

    Love the hexies and the scarf!
    It is wonderful to meet blogging friends in real life! A beautiful photo of the 3 of you! 🙂

  8. Pip says:

    What a spread 🙂 and your pav didn’t have a burnt bottom it was carefully caramellised 🙂
    It is wonderful to meet up with bloggy friends, lovely photos.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

