Stitching – day 10

Me, myself and I went to the movies today and saw “The 100 Foot Journey“. It is this month’s Movie Club movie, but as I can’t make tonight’s viewing, I went this morning, by myself, instead…….and loved it! I came out wanting to go to rural France, to make bread and to eat Indian food. As I was walking home, a lady gave me a funny look, then smiled and I realised I had a great big grin on my face; how wonderful to feel so good after seeing a movie! *

So, this afternoon, with my head filled with scenes from the movie, I traced, cut and bagged more sets for Steampunk

20140909-175447.jpgFour bags, eight sets! Love these Ikea bags (thanks GJ for putting me onto these!).

Have you done your hour today?

Achieved: lots of cutting out
Watched: “Prisoner” – The Golfer’s choice. A 1960’s sci-fi series, which is actually quite good, weird, but good. It’s interesting to see lots of British actors in their youth! (Paul Eddington, Anton Rodgers, Patrick McGoohan, Leo McKern to name but a few)

Meredithe x

* Please go with an unbiased view – I’d hate to have built it up too much for you!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Stitching – day 10

  1. Kerry says:

    I’m impressed that you have time to do movies, watch TV, read books AND sew for an hour a day!
    Where am I going wrong? I’m back to making cushions but am also trying to hand quilt at night for nearly an hour (between nodding off on the couch!) Tomorrow is a home day so I hope to nail the cushions on the head!
    Keep up the good work.
    Cheers Kerry

  2. Helen F says:

    Aah now I know the movie! Jules from work said it was good too!!! I luv the old prisoner series with Patrick McGoohan. Hopefully we will see steampunk finished soon??? not going to get sidetracked are we??

  3. Cécile says:

    Like Kerry, I’m impressed too !! Well, in fact, I think you are Shiva with 8 arms !! LOL !
    So, this morning, I’ve done my hand quilting ! I think I’ll finish it at the end of the week !! Yepeah !
    And this afternoon, I will cut too and make some blocks for a future quilt !! 🙂
    Good evening ladies !

  4. Suz says:

    I can certainly vouch for rural France! The actual restaurant in the movie was only forty or so kilometres from one of the places we stayed at in our recent trip! I have spent the last hour looking for inspiration for a new quilt- does that count?

  5. Glenda says:

    Sounds like the perfect day !!!

  6. barbvedder says:

    i love to go to the movies and don’t mind going by myself at all.
    I read the book and I’m looking forward to the movie

  7. Carolyn says:

    My daughter and I want to see that movie so much. We watched the trailer and she has read the book. We might go and see it on the weekend. I have been prepping more hexagons and sewing clam shells. Sounds like you had a great day!

  8. Sandie says:

    Movie sounded fab. Seems that you are “steaming” along with your Steam Punk blocks. Still sewing daily. Happy. Finished sewing and organising layout for all blocks of Six Senses quilt, ready for sewing tomorrow. Yay!! Hand stitching tonight. Off to Ikea tomorrow to get some of those plastic bags. Thanks Meredithe

  9. Kyle says:

    Loved the movie! Can’t wait for it to come out on Netflix so I can see it again. I’ve gotten a few things done and a few more things ready to go. Tell me about the ikea bags.

  10. callistagarman@gmail.com says:

    Hi Meredithe I have been working away daily and I have done quite a lot. I did 60 odd hexagons, 6 small stars, put the binding on a quilt back from the quilter, put one side of the border on the JA quilt, did not like it so now I am going to cut out another. Oops I also made a pin cushion and a little scissor pocket. I do sound rather all over the place but I have been trying to finish a few things and as I am off OS next week I will need to have lots of hand work for the plane trip. Stars and embroidery will work very well. It is very inspiring to follow what you and your group are up to. It really keeps me connected to Aussie quilting here in the US of A. What a good feel good movie “The 100 Foot Journey”is. I really enjoyed it as well. Happy stitching Callista Ps they think I am very odd ’cause I am a hand stitcher. It is very different being in the land of the machine quilters and the colours they use are very dark and drab here in the Midwest Sent from my iPad

    >

  11. I love those Ikea bags too – great for keeping projects organised. I cut out lots of triangles for Mrs B today, and this evening I will be making an EPP pincushion at Abbey Quilters – we just have a quick and easy project for our first night of the new term, as a lot of the time will be taken p paying our subs (and blethering!).

  12. Janet Lucas says:

    Prisoner….is that the one where giant white balls chase you if you try to escape?

  13. thimbleanna says:

    We saw The 100 Foot Journey a few weeks ago and I was really surprised that hubby loved it more than I did — it doesn’t seem like his kind of movie LOL. Let’s see … do you think you can have those Steampunks put together in a week?

  14. Deb Burville says:

    I’ve been enjoying following your daily journey. It’s amaizing what you can accomplish in relativley short amounts of time, all it takes is a little organisation!!
    As for ‘funny looks” what is that!!!! a person can’t have a smile on thier face? Happiness is a choice. Keep smiling M !!
    Deb

  15. Pip says:

    Hubs and I went to that movie last week, we both enjoyed it (I was surprised as he doesn’t usually like that type of movie) Prisoner was one of my favourite tv shows growing up, I was allowed to stay up late to watch 🙂

  16. Jan says:

    Would like to see that movie….maybe when it’s out on DVD! Anyway, did a bit of sashiko stitching today. Loving your Steam Punk.

  17. your output astounds me. Also, you have no idea how jealous I am that you seem able to multitask so effectively – ie, watch TV and achieve! if I try that, something goes wrong and it’s usually whatever knitting I’m trying desperately to finish. 😦 BTW, Leo McKern was an Aussie!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

