Stitching – day 7

One has had an utterly delightful afternoon. Earlier in the day, with the weather taking a turn for the better, one took the opportunity for a promenade, thence to sit most quietly in the gentle sunshine acquainting oneself with the affairs of the current day, before plying needle and thread through cotton in the company of Miss Jane Austen.

Of course, Miss Austen was not here in person; it was through the medium of Digital Video Disc that the enjoyment was obtained, namely “Sense and Sensibility” (with Mr Hugh Grant, Mr Alan Rickman and Miss Emma Thompson), thence the beginnings of “Pride and Prejudice” with the most delectable Mr Colin Firth (be still my beating heart) as the tall, dark and handsome Mr Darcy

20140906-181409.jpgThe previous evening, it was a great pleasure to sew the last stitch into this quilt top

20140906-181507.jpgand one shall now apply one’s intellect to a, presumably, fruitful cognitive endeavour for the next steps.

In between longing gazes at Mr Darcy, one did manage to complete another “Steampunk”

20140906-181759.jpgand as The Golfer is now returned from his day chasing a white ball over pastures, one shall have to return to the present day, stop flirting with Mr Darcy – such outrageous behaviour in a married woman – and repair to the scullery to make preparations for our event repast.

I remain,
Your faithful servant
Meredithe

Achieved: last row on Kumo and 1 Steampunk block
Watching: Sense and Sensibility, and part 1 of Pride and Prejudice (can you believe it’s nearly 20 years since this show was made??)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Stitching – day 7

  1. Rachael says:

    OMG I thought I was the only one …….. I have Pride and Prejudice on AppleTV and I watch it repeatedly, in-between episodes of Downton Abbey. I have watched both at least 6 times each and I could recite the lines from memory ……….. Mr. Darcy is SO dashing!

  2. Helen F says:

    Oh M – I luuuuv Mr Darcy!!!!! – I watch it at least twice a year!!!!! I luv your quilt top – I remember when you started it! Steampunk is looking good. I haven’t stitched all week except for a few stitches yesterday at Mrs Macs!!! Been out in my jungle of a garden all day and Jw was helping granny sweep the driveway! Hope to do some quilting tonight! So what have you rustled up in the scullery for his lordship???? xxx

  3. Cécile says:

    Hello Meredithe !
    I have all the books about Jane Austen! And I also watched on TV many films with these actors ! Sooooo British….I love the atmosphere and I love them !
    I think Jane Austen was a very clever woman…..
    And I really loooooove your top too…..so cute !

  4. Sandy B says:

    Singular. (I have just watched, again, with such a grin on my face, the wonderful ‘The Importance of Being Ernest”…what FUN!!! A wonderful cast including dear Mr Firth and a witty Judy Dench!)
    I do think perhaps you have used your time well in the performance of your sewing skills. The results are to be commended.

  5. Annie Andrews says:

    Hours of quilting and starting on red and white hexes, made me realise that I stitch so many more hours a day than one. How lucky we are to have such a passion.

  6. Debbie Carraro says:

    I am highly impressed that you managed to achieve any stitching with Mr Darcy in the room. I lust after him at every viewing of Pride and Predjudice and hide my wedding ring from his sight as well! One can dream on can’t one!

  7. normsandie says:

    I too love Pride and Predjudice and I’m so glad Meredithe you had such a lovely and agreeable day. Thank you for your daily blogs (even with internet issues) to keep us all inspired to sew daily. Technically I haven’t put threaded needle to fabric yet today but have been working hard starting to fill our newly finished attic storage space with the “I’m unable to part with items” and of course the “kids have left home but left their stuff here” items from under the stair and the spare room which is to become my new sewing room. I hopefully will get to do a stitch or two tonight on my hexagons as we are staying in on this cold and rainy night here in Perth. I have managed to sew every day since last Sunday and my Six Degrees Quilt and Di Ford mystery quilt are both coming along nicely. I must away now as it is cocktail hour and my glass of bubbles awaits after a long but rewarding day. Thansk again Meredithe

  8. Carolyn says:

    Aaahhh, Mr Darcy! I love, love, love Pride and Prejudice. I have read the book and watch the series often. We all need a Mr Darcy in our lives. Oh and a Mr Butler (Miss Fisher Murder Mysteries). I would get a lot more sewing done with a Mr Butler. I am continuing on my clam shell journey. I love the quilt top!

  9. Glenda says:

    Oh yes , my favorite miss Austen ! I’ve been reading her letters recently – such wonderful literary prose !
    But mr Darcy , we can but lust and dream !!
    Seems a little inappropriate to be stitching steam punk while viewing such purity !!!
    Enjoy ! Xox gj

  10. Linda says:

    I Enjoyed reading your post…very witty…amazing amount of words people used in those days. I was watching a film with Ray Winstone and thought he’s nice…realized I’ve got old….he’s a plump middle aged man! 🙂

  11. My kind of day. I love Colin Firth, but I also really like the P and P with Kiera Knightly. I have watched that over and over while sewing.

  12. barbvedder says:

    My favorite version of P&P – great steampunk block.

  13. Jan says:

    Love your quilt top! Not much sewing for me over the weekend but lots of family celebrations for Fathers’ Day so that was fun. Not giving up though….

  14. thimbleanna says:

    Now THAT’s the way to sew! I LOVE that sweet little quilt. And your Steampunk blocks!!! I LOVE them!!! (And of course, will need to see them in person LOL!)

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

