Stitching – day 4

It’s day 4 and I’m on a roll! Yesterday, as promised, I finished this block

20140903-165949.jpgand stitched another

20140903-170013.jpgI’m wondering if I can make shopping count, ‘cos I bought some wool, needles and patterns for socks today!

20140903-170107.jpgMy Mother-in-law used to knit socks each Winter for my Father-in-law; he hasn’t had any since she died and I’ve always thought I should make him some. In case you’re wondering, the brown is for him and the blue for me (doesn’t Kaffe look young in that photo??).

This afternoon I finished stitching the four-patch/lozenge row on this quilt

20140903-170417.jpgthen prepped (for some reason there are no markings on these pieces – what was I thinking??), and pieced the octagon/lozenge row and have started stitching it on. I’m using the Kumo template set. Only one more row to go on this……then I need to decide what to do next – it’s too small to be useful as it is and I still love this fabric and have lots of it. I’m wondering about a double diamond border??

How’s your daily stitching going? Please let us know in the comments. I’ve been so enjoying reading what you’re all up to. If you haven’t joined in yet, it’s not too late! Just an hour a day, and let us know what you’ve stitched. Keep it going my lovelies!

Achieved: 2 blocks and 1.5 rows
Watching: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (catching up on some favourite movies!)

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Stitching – day 4

  1. Suz says:

    Love the lozenges! Keep going…. And no, shopping definitely doesn’t count! I have managed more of my hand quilting only……

  2. You are doing well! I must sort out my knitting and finish the sock that has been in my basket since last winter. I got lots of sewing done yesterday – so much that I only had time to blog about half of it ……… does that mean I get a prize?!

  3. rachaeldaisy says:

    Youre using your Material Obsession fabrics for your Steampunk blocks. They look really wonderful!! Love the lozenges!!! A double diamond border sounds perfect. I haven’t sewed a single stitch today 😦 but I’ll sew extra on the weekend.

  4. elainesuller says:

    Love your lozenges and your version of Steam Punk! I have just started knitting again too 🙂

  5. Cécile says:

    A double diamond border sounds great ! And I definitely love your fabrics !
    But I don’t know knitting socks..Huuu…it seems to me difficult !
    This afternoon, I will do my hand quilting !
    Have a great day !

  6. Maree says:

    Knitting a scarf in variegated 4 ply. Also doing some hand sewing on ” Message in a Bottle”

  7. Annie Andrews says:

    Quilted with friends for several hours. I used to knit socks used to do a double heel so they last longer.

  8. Ruth says:

    Of course shopping counts, it is preparing for the next project. You certainly are industrious. I have knitted gloves not socks and they were fun. I sewed in the train to and from work today.

  9. Sheesh! I’m just now getting around to reading blogs and I’ve missed joining in. I’ve been sewing at least an hour everyday though — I’ve been working like a madwoman to keep up on the trip around the world — I need to have the Sept. assignment done in just another week — not sure I can make it. I probably wouldn’t manage to complete your contest anyway — as you know, I’ll have packing to do LOL!

    Ooooh, and I’m so excited you’re doing the Steampunk — and impressed that you’re hand piecing!!!

  10. Carolyn says:

    I have only managed to sew on one clam shell tonight but I did tidy my sewing area and sorted some projects. Maybe that counts as prepping! Loving the steam punk blocks

  11. I chickened out on your challenge but I am admiring you. I am secretly trying to stitch each day and so far have done my 1 hour each day. Let’s see how long I can last!

  12. Kyle says:

    I’ve continued to appliqué the broderie perse border on Di Ford’s mystery quilt. Shopping is prep work, in my book. Love how the lozenge quilt looks and a double diamond border would really tie in.

  13. audrey says:

    What a great idea to stitch for an hour a day! You’re making great progress on your Steam punk blocks–just beautiful.:)

  14. Pip says:

    I’d like to think that shopping would count, but somehow I don’t think so, it would make it too easy 🙂
    I like the idea of a double diamond border and after that will it be big enough or will it need more?

  15. Jan says:

    Ok so day 4 of your challenge was day 1 of mine…..maybe that means I need to go for 3 days longer than you if I get that far!! So I only did a few stitches on my (ongoing) yoyo curtain for Sewjourn but did spend some time cleaning up my sewing room and chose fabric for a bag for Lucy’s music books and some more fabrics for a hexagon pincushion so think that all counts?

  16. Jan says:

    PS Loving the Steam Punk blocks they look great.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

