Stitching – day 1

It’s Day 1 of the Stitching Contest my lovelies, and yes, I have achieved!!

Two and a half hours this afternoon (and hopefully more tonight) and I’ve chosen fabrics for four blocks and cut out three of those four. Slow but steady!

20140830-171235.jpgI do love me a template, and I have a set to assist with Jenny Kingwell’s Steampunk, something I’ve been wanting to make for quite some time.

How are you going? Done your homework??

You can still join in even if you don’t have a blog; do the prepping/stitching/appliqué/embroidery/quilting or whatever and tell us about it in the comments. I’d love to have you join in!! This is a personal contest; can you prep/sew etc for 1 hour minimum each day? You don’t have to work on the same project every day (I’m certainly no going to!), just work on a project.

Day 1

Achieved: 3 blocks prepped
Watching: “Vera” (13th Street on Foxtel)

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Stitching – day 1

  1. belindabetts says:

    Thanks for the reminder Meredithe, I’m sewing the vines on Di Fords mystery BOM. Only 2 parts behind. I need to get a wriggle on. See what happens during the week.

  2. Annie Andrews says:

    Count me in, quilted today more tonight, yesterday two more sides to 25 half logs and then because my machining is so ordinary had to trim them.
    Annie

  3. Sandie says:

    Just sitting down to do my 1st day. Machine sewing 4 blocks from my Six Degrees Quilt and then I too am going stitch my vines on my Di Ford mystery quilt, Cut the 2nd border fabric,stems, hexagons and broderie perse out yesterday. Ready to rock and roll.

  4. Suz says:

    Good job Meredithe! I got my Cobbled quilt finished, binding and all! No stitching tomorrow though- working most of the day! I’ll be watching your progress with interest!

  5. Pip says:

    Done, love your fabric choices, I haven’t seen Vera yet, I’ve heard it is worth watching.

  6. Cécile says:

    Ok…I’m a weak woman and I’m in too ! 🙂
    Yesterday I worked on the Di Ford’s Weddind sampler during one hour ..on the block 21.
    Made 2 little blocks of the corners !
    In France this is the end of the morning ! This afternoon, I will do an another one !
    Great Sunday ladies !

  7. Carolyn says:

    I love your colour choices for the Steam Punk quilt Meredithe. I don’t have a blog but I would love to join in. I may not be able to fit in an hour, but I will certainly work on a project each day. I did sew for an hour today to finish a Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz dress for my daughter to wear to school on Tuesday.

  8. rachaeldaisy says:

    I always try to sew everyday and usually manage an hour or two. I’m working extra, extra hours at work for the next two weeks so not sure how I’ll go, but I did get some mindless sewing projects ready for the evenings with the hope that I wont be too exhausted.

  9. Glenda says:

    What is the challenge about??
    Steam punk is a fab quilt!! Enjoy!gjxxxx

  10. Ruth says:

    Will I join, or won’t I? Typical procrastination on my part. Yes, I will join. How hard can sewing one hour per day for two weeks, and then blogging about it be?? (Just ignore the fact that I have not updated my blog since May.) Though in January this year I did set myself the goal of sewing at least half an hour every day, which I have achieved most days. Thanks for the incentive.

  11. Kerry says:

    You are such an inspiration to me! I’m in too. Today I read the newspapers for far too long but headed into my sewing room at 4.00 pm and cut out four cushions for my new cane lounge. It took at least an hour….Tomorrow I’m working but will ensure I sit down when I get home and do some hand quilting. Yippee….

  12. Janet Lucas says:

    Today,I am working on finishing up ten gift/welcome bags for an upcoming quilting retreat. I am down to the handles and embellishments.

  13. Kyle says:

    I try to sew most days so today I did more appliquéing on the Di Ford mystery quilt. Slow but steady, that’s my general motto. It will be amazing to see how much can get accomplished in 60 minutes each day! Thanks for the boost.

  14. Jenny M says:

    I would love to commit to an hour a day….but after working on a computer all day, an hour at night is hard, but maybe this is the push I need. Meredithe, can I ask, how are you sewing your Steampunk? By hand or machine? I have bought this pattern (which I love, after seeing Jenny’s quilt at her shop) and thought I would hand piece, but the first block is not as good as I would like…so maybe I will have to practice my hand-piecing, as it is something I have not done for some years or try machine piecing.

  15. treadlemusic says:

    Love that one!! I guess I’ve not been paying attention to this challenge but you know me…..I’m always working on something! The latest is the Sept. door banner for my long-term-care friend. Today (Labor Day/Monday) I’m back from the camper and working on the 2 quilts needed for my quilting demo the first part of Oct. Hope to post progress on that tonight/tomorrow. Hugs….

  16. Sandie says:

    Day 2 and more stitching done. Finished another 4 blocks of my Six Degrees quilt and appliquéd some circles on my Di Ford quilt. I love this challenge.

  17. Callista Garman says:

    I have just sewn the Di Ford’s Jane Austen quilt together and cut out the border. Today I will do some hexagons in the car. It’s great fun to see what other quilters are up to

  18. I have loved the Steam Punk since I saw Anna’s …….. but I must not start another project!! I do sew most days, even if it is just a little bit mindless hexie sewing in the evening. However I do have something exciting to try out tomorrow!!

  19. Janet Lucas says:

    Finished the ten gift bags for retreat
    Day2: made three birthday blocks for Facebook exchange
    Day 3: worked on cutting twenty iron caddy kits for upcoming retreat, plus dragged out the embroidery machine to see if I remember anything
    Whew!!!!!!

  20. Helen Sceney says:

    HI, Just a query – have been looking art your site and came across Robyn Falloons version of the Griswold Quilt, is there a pattern available?? I have done a few of Robyns designs and love them the colour and the applique, would love to here from you, thanks Helen

  21. Susan says:

    Would love to know where you got the steam punk template???? I like this idea of one hour a day, a lot.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

