Stitching

For the next two weeks I’ve decided to set my self, um…………can you wait there a moment? just off to check the thesaurus……

(Hmmm, an ultimatum? Could be…… Requirement? No…… Perplexity? May very well be! Dare? Ooh that’s a bit confronting! Contest…..contest?……..contest……yes…..)

Apologies for all that muttering. Ahem, as I was saying; for the next two weeks I’ve decided to set myself a contest.

What’s this, I hear you ask??

I want to see if I can sew something, anything, be it prepping, hand piecing, hand appliqué, embroidery, hand quilting for at least 1 hour each day and post about it. Surprisingly, I do find that there are days where I do no sewing At All! Sacrilege, I know!! I get caught up in domestics and have evening commitments, or I’m just not in the mood after a busy day out. I know many of you already achieve this, setting aside part of the day and stitching to your heart’s content. So I want to see if it’s possible….probable…..practical…..

20140830-113359.jpgWant to play along? It starts tomorrow, Sunday, the start of the week – what could be more appropriate!

Enjoy your weekend peeps!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Stitching

  1. Carrolyn V says:

    Wonderful idea. I sew for more than one hour a day……but unfortunately it is usually creating more UFOs. 😦 But I am in……

  2. Pip says:

    I think I’m a bit like you Meredithe, somedays the domestic life gets hold and then there is no hope of sewing, I’ve taken to keeping something I can work on by hand on my side table so I can stitch and listen to tv at the same time and at least feel as if I’m sewing something, posting everyday is another contest in itself 🙂

  3. Suz says:

    I’d love to but when hand quilting the ‘monster’ (the Museum Medallion) there would be little to show from one day to the next! Good luck- you may have seven new projects by next week!!!!

  4. lisa says:

    Well Meredeth this might be the challenge I need to get going and be a good blogger as have been a bad one of late!! Thanks for the challenge.

  5. lisa says:

    mmmm it seems my spell check changed your name…. sorry Meredithe!!!

  6. bermudagirl says:

    Oh Meredithe, I am so glad you suggested this. When our whole life revolves around quilting and sewing and then life gets in the way, it can be depressing and disappointing when we don’t take time to do the thing we most love and do it every day. So why not? I am definitely in!! I will see how I do!! Hey please remind us!!! You know it will be like homework that I have to do!!! Oh what a struggle that will be to convince myself that it deserves my time, when it is homework set by someone else!!! But I’m not very good at the these quilt a long, sew a long stuff but since you don’t make any demands it will be a great way to try to do as much of my quilt before my parents get here! Thanks so much for the motivation! Again, lovely post, love that block, despite the use of Batik’s (the pink is Batik right?) Well I don’t know the official definition, but I have been noticing that I have been drawn to them in general lately.
    Jodie

  7. I look forward to seeing how you get on. I sew a little bit everyday but I can’t always post about everything. Good luck and enjoy.

  8. Cécile says:

    Hello Meredithe !
    It’s a wonderful challenge but unfortunately, I have many projects to be ended …
    I will read your blog every day of course… !
    Enjoy and good luck ! It’s a wonderful idea ! 😉

  9. That is quite a challenge you’ve set yourself. Sorry I can’t join you , I’m off on holiday.

  10. Jenni says:

    good luck. I am also in, the sewing not the blogging

  11. Maree says:

    I,m up for the sewing.,or knitting ,or quilting. I,ll see how I go .Good luck ! x

  12. Jan says:

    Love the idea!! I should have seen this a couple of days ago. Not sure I could find the hour but maybe 1/2 an hour?? Shall see how I go!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

