A hint of Spring!

There’s been a distinct feeling of Spring in the air the last couple of days; white clouds in pale blue skies – such a change from miserable grey skies – mild temperatures and fresh Spring breezes, which encourage opening doors and windows and letting that air flow through the house. While I love Winter, it’s been so nice to see sunshine and have the house open.

20140824-121853.jpgA bit of Spring sunshine brings a smile to faces, a cheer to hearts and a lift to spirits! Down the street, everyone seems to be happier and smiling!

Friday sewing was at mine, and something I’ve been longing to do all Winter, and thought that as Spring seems to be just around the corner I’d better do, is to make bread.

20140824-122121.jpgI have to say, I’m inordinately pleased with how my loaf turned out! I’ve been addicted to The Great British Bakeoff (and can’t wait for this year’s to programme here!), and decided to try one of Paul Hollywood’s bread recipes. (Ooh that man is good eye candy!!). So thanks Paul – I hope he’d approve!!

To go with my bread, I made the girls’ favourite Chicken and Sweetcorn Soup

20140824-122644.jpgThe bread was such a success there was only a slice each left for The Golfer and I for our dinner!

20140824-122739.jpgand so much fun to make, there’s another loaf on its second prove as I write this!

I also made Anzacs and Velvet Muffins (chocolate and beetroot)

20140824-122930.jpgAs to sewing, Maree is obsessed with her Message in a Bottle

20140824-123122.jpgand it’s looking so good!

20140824-123148.jpgMrs Mac is using my Carpenter’s Wheel template for these stunning blocks

20140824-123254.jpgHelen has just become a great-great-aunt! So this is for the new babe

20140824-123337.jpgMaree scored this Cath Kidston bag from her local op shop!!

20140824-123421.jpgIt was such a lovely day

20140824-123453.jpgAnother sign of Spring is surely daffs

20140824-123535.jpgThanks GJ!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A hint of Spring!

  1. Helen F says:

    Ha – so much for spring today! – heater on!!! Your bread was yummy M!

  2. Quilter 501 says:

    We have had a summer of storms, power failures, fires, downed trees etc……so spring next time will terrify me thinking summer is coming again!! Washington state has had a bad year. I am thankful our fall and winter are coming…just ice storms and deep snow!

    I am so envious of the special food you all make and enjoy….thanks so much for always sharing the pix. Now on to your quilting and patchwork…DIVINE! I have purchased most of your templates and now want to actually try some. I love your blog.

  3. Hilda says:

    Oh deeelicious – well done with that bread! Lovely quilt projects too. I love winter too but Spring is prettier 🙂

  4. Janine says:

    Miss M. Paul Hollywood is great eye candy. Love his show and follow his every move. Well obviously I cannot quilt and watch Paul at the same time. A girl has to get her priorities in order xx

  5. Cécile says:

    Hello Meredithe !
    Your muffins and your bread look delicious !! Bravo ! In French, you’re a top chef ! 🙂
    The appliqué remember me candies, specially the stems (Lollipop?)
    And in France, the summer is ending and the automn is almost there…but it’s my favourite season with beautiful colours !!
    Great Sunday !!!

  6. Maree says:

    It was a beautiful day with good food and lovely friends. thank you x

  7. Love what Mrs Mac is achieving with the carpenter’s wheel.

  8. It has started to feel like autumn here! I have the gorgeous Mr Hollywood’s book – but I have yet to bake any of his recipes!
    Loving Mrs Mac’s blocks ……. and as for those muffins YUM!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

