Seriously?!

This is why I take so long to get anything finished. I’m so easily distracted by the next new, bright, shiny thing that comes along!! I really wish I was like my friends; Suzie W and Miss Kaye both work diligently on one project at a time and finish!! I’m too much of a dragonfly, capriciously gadding from one project to another. I doubt I’ll ever change, so I really shouldn’t bore you with this, should I…..however……

You saw on Monday’s post that I started cutting out a star block? It’s for Sue’s pattern Kendal Farm which I bought ages ago; love the pattern, love the colour way. Last week at the shop, this range from Harriet Hargrave had arrived and I just knew it was right for Kendal Farm!

20140618-104142.jpgAnd on Monday for Ya-Ya’s, I didn’t want to take my hand quilting, too bulky, and I wasn’t in the mood for appliqué, not practical to take machine work, so this “new” project was it!

So far it looks like this (I’m stitching by hand)

20140618-104442.jpgBut then…….

Have you seen or heard about the Brigitte Giblin Trip Around the World Along? It’s on Facebook; I don’t do Facebook but I’ve seen progress on other people’s blogs and a few friends have started, so, of course, this little flibertigibbert has to join in too!!

I’ve chosen the first nine fabrics

20140618-104912.jpgand they are sitting on the trolley teasing me……..”come and play with us!!”

So what am I going to do this afternoon? Any of the above?? Oh no! I’m going to try spiral machine quilting! Why, you ask? The end of June is rapidly approaching and I need to get this quilting done for the 2nd quarter of FAL. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Meanwhile, a very small group of Eliott Stitchers met at mine yesterday for Chicken and Sweetcorn Soup

20140618-105700.jpgand a cheese board, with lots of chatter and not much stitching!!

20140618-105725.jpgand Carolyn bought me this perfectly pink cyclamen!

20140618-105825.jpg
I’m off to prep for quilting!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Seriously?!

  1. Jennifer G says:

    Get those new projects started! I’m here supporting you!

  2. Irene Blanck says:

    The TAW quilt is similar to the Trippin’ quilt from Miss Rose’s Quilt Co which i saw some time ago. i’ve bought my fabric and will be starting it at our quilt retreat next month. I’m using mini charm squares.

    Now what quilter in her sane mind finishes a project before starting another????

  3. Kyle says:

    Love your dragonfly analogy and being distracted by shiny things! Ha. We’re all smiling.

  4. audrey says:

    The Trip Around The World Along was/is very tempting. How could you possibly say no? And those new fabrics are very yummy. When the perfect fabric comes along, it’s so rewarding to your patience for not having started the project before its time! hehe Have you seen the pillow made over athttp://littleislandquilting.blogspot.com/2014/06/the-horners-are-in-house.html with your Cheddar Stars template? Gorgeous.:)

  5. I love the bright fabrics. …the butter dish looks lovely on the table…..It’s always nice to start a new project

  6. Love your new fabrics! I have resisted the TAW, as I want to get on with Mrs B. Your soup looks delicious, and the cheeseboard tempting. I am currently eating far too many strawberries, as we have the best ones in the entire universe!!

  7. Pip says:

    I’m trying very hard to stay away from any new projects, it is hard though when you put up enticing photos of lovely fabrics, those Harriet Hargraves look luscious.

  8. Ann says:

    Oh Meredithe, I think we might me sole sisters!! I do exactly the same. I have no wil power and get such a buzz from starting a new project. Think we might need therapy . Oh love the fabric too. Might just have to get some!!! X

  9. njquilter24 says:

    seriously bet your having more fun working on multiple projects at once…always fun to shop for new fabrics and be inspired too!
    LOL
    Kathie

  10. Elaine says:

    love your fabric for Brigitte’s TATW I am stitching along with her, it is really addictive 🙂

  11. Debbie Carraro says:

    Yummy! And I don’t just mean the scrumptious lunch! I am with you Meredith, why have just one project and finish it when there literally thousands out there waiting for a start? Life is too short to not try everything that takes your eye!

  12. Glenda says:

    I did notice a new project but said nothing!!!!
    It’s the only way to go, that way we never get bored!!!
    Loove the fabrics , and the stars!!!
    But I must start the TAW on my return! I’m excited.
    P.s. Hope the Elliot stitchers were missing their founder!!!!!!!
    Gjxxxx

  13. Sue Whitburn says:

    We love you just the way you are!!!

  14. thimbleanna says:

    HANDS UP! Step away from the other projects!!! Devote yourself only to the TAW.
    Do it, or the consequences may be dire.
    And, while you’re at it, drag our little Jan into the fold.
    Kicking and Screaming.
    Make her do it.
    And HURRY.
    I want to see your TAW.
    (And hers.)

    (And Wait. What? Harriet Hargrave has fabric? Do you know who produces it???)

  15. Jan says:

    Yay! So happy to hear that you’re participating in the TAW challenge! It’s addicting! ~ almost as addicting as checking FB every few hours for everyone’s update photos. 😉

  16. Karen Reid says:

    thank you – you make me feel normal; I thought it was only me who started new projects before finishing everything else I have on the go. I too have been resisting TAW but it might get the better of me

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

