Friday Happies

I’m joining in with Gillian today for a Friday Happies post.

1. Here’s the trolley I picked up at ikea last Friday (last Friday?? Where has the week gone??!!)

20140613-103856.jpgI should tell you it was the practicality of it that drew me, but really it was the colour! Don’t you just love the turquoise – or should it be called Tiffany blue?! The contents will be a moving feast depending on what’s currently being stitched, and the coffee table will should stay clear of “sewing stuff”!!

2. My design wall is up!

20140613-104443.jpgI’m so happy that I finally have a design wall! It’s not in the best location; the only wall space is in the spare room (it will give The Kettles something interesting to look at when they stay!), but it’s right next to where I sew, so not far to walk. I joined two 1.9m lengths together, so it’s quite wide at 2.3m

20140613-104759.jpgand I’ve just used Command hooks to hold it in place – each one holds 3.7kg, so I think they’ll be safe enough!

20140613-104916.jpgI put it up All By Myself – hence the extra pencil marks!! (Don’t let The Golfer see!). (Hmm, I think that’s the name of a song?!)

3. The pattern that I ordered last week at Patch n Quilt when we visited for Irene’s new pattern launch has arrived! (They’d run out!!)

20140613-110435.jpgGorgeous, huh?! I just love it! If you’re interested in any of Irene’s patterns, contact her at blanckirene@gmail.com

4. After quilting the centre of my current hand quilted quilt, I was so looking forward to implementing the idea I’d had for the blocks. Alas, not all plans seen with the mind’s eye look as good in reality!! I hated it! I’d carried this idea in my head since piecing the quilt years go. Very frustrating to see it didn’t work, and worse, having to unpick my hand quilting!! Some considerable contemplation later, quite some time calculating distances and measurements, and a trial block done…….

20140613-111236.jpg……I think I’m happy!

Wishing you a fabulous weekend!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Happies

  1. Ali Fergusson says:

    Hi Meredithe – as a long term follower of your wonderful Blog I too purchased Irene’s “Message in a Bottle” – so different and will help use up some the growing stash ! I was intrigued to read that Irene doesn’t normally use templates but employs a lightbox – so yes you’ve guessed it I have purchased a lightbox now.
    best wishes from Sydney
    Ali

    still love perspex templates indeed have used your helpful tools on more than one quilt !

  2. Suzanne says:

    Wow! Love the trolley! I may have to get one! It reminds me of the vintage stuff my parents had from the fifties. Love the message in the bottle quilt too.

  3. Suz says:

    I also have an Ikea trolley and am waiting for the chance to put it together and use it! It is definitely about the colour- turquoise! YUM!

  4. Janet says:

    It’s a bit painful to take out handquilting stitches I know. I love to see your progress :0) The trolley looks like a fantastic idea!

  5. Pip says:

    I’ve got one of those trolleys too, mine is dark grey, they’re wonderful, I sometimes wonder if I could get away with having another one 🙂 Irene visited our guild a couple of months ago, I couldn’t take her workshop but really enjoyed listening to her talk and then seeing all her lovely quilts, you are going to enjoy making Message in a Bottle.

  6. mandymunroe says:

    That trolley is gorgeous – I NEED one!!!

  7. Carole says:

    Love your design wall, very clever! Where did you purchase the Kaffee Fasset fabric for it?

  8. The design wall is great. Hope the coffee table stays clear….

  9. Shirley rolfe says:

    I have the same trolley. I’m sure it must have designed solely for quilters to fill it with wonderful fabric!!

  10. rachaeldaisy says:

    I bet ikea has had a rush on pretty blue trollies since you published your post. It looks perfect for sewing goodies. You’ll love your design wall. I couldn’t sew without mine, it really changes how you see things.

  11. Just catching up after a busy weekend! Love the trolley, the pattern, the design wall! What a pain having to unpick your hand quilting – but if you had left it, it would have annoyed you for ever more!!

  12. Irene Blanck says:

    Love the trolley – nice to keep your sewing mobile! Thanks for the plug – i think however that the email i gave you have a missing com – so it should be blanckirene@gmail.com

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

