Class Show and Tell

Sue 1 spoilt us today with a delicious cake

20140612-134129.jpgbrought in to celebrate the handing over of her Mrs B to be quilted!! So exciting!

20140612-134225.jpgSue has started on a new quilt……… I don’t think she thought she’d be hexi-ing again so soon!

20140612-134340.jpgMeanwhile, Josephine has one coloured pyramid and 4 plain pyramids to make and that’s the end of the “bits” on her Mrs B,

20140612-134456.jpgjust borders to stitch on!

Carolyn came with her centre star made

20140612-134700.jpgand in class, chose and cut three borders, and put two of them on

20140612-134806.jpgPeggy put her log cabin together

20140612-134947.jpgOops! Better fix the bottom right hand corner…..

20140612-135109.jpgAh, that’s better!!

Jane trimmed her centre block, appliquéd two corners on, laid out the next row of blocks and stitched one lot together and onto the centre

20140612-135258.jpgSue 2 completed this gorgeous block

20140612-135339.jpgMarilyn has her rings of stars completed and worked on the centre

20140612-135429.jpgChris completed another little sashing for her Mrs B

20140612-135626.jpgand we ooh’d and aah’d over Lisa’s bag, er block

20140612-135744.jpg(love the block, but love the bag too! Wanna see the other side??)

20140612-135839.jpgThe bag goes so well with the block, doesn’t it?!

So much achieved today!!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Class Show and Tell

  1. Jessica says:

    Dear Meredithe,

    So enjoy reading about your ‘doings’ & the work of the ladies you encourage in classes. As a result of reading your blog I had a recent visit to L’Uccello & took myself (sadly alone) to lunch at The Hopetoun Tearoom. I was a road buddy for my daughter who was at a conference so she couldn’t share the pleasure of wandering around lovely places in Melbourne with me over the weekend. She attended the Big Hearted Conference & we stayed at a motel in Brunswick for the 3 nights. Big Hearted Conference is for creative entepreneurial young folk (women mainly) & the inaugral conferernce was held last year at Abbotsford Convent & organised by Clair Bowditch (singer). I think you would have enjoyed it too. Last year less than 200 attended – this year 500 so the ‘word’ is out now.

    Now, the reason for my email to you apart than to thank you for all the visual loveliness you post is to ask if you would tell me what pattern/quilt that this lovely starry circle comes from. I am a traditionalist/hand piecer & found this one quite entrancing. Currently I am trying to complete my 1800’s Basket Quilt – pattern by Corliss Searcy. I just love Threadbear shop at Castlemaine & came down for the beautiful Applique Society show held there recently. I have taken a trip down for Quilts in the Barn about 2 years ago & enjoyed that too. BTW, I buy templates too – from Addicted to Fabric where they stock the ones I think you have designed. Was there over the long weekend & the stock looks low – they seem to be really into the Sue Daley items more now. Bit disappointing as I was on the hunt for something nice just like the circle of stars below. Is that one of your ‘packs?’ If so, please tell me which one so I can purchase. Also making (by hand) a 4″ cream star quilt from the American Museum in Bath & wonder if the stars in the circle might be the same size – probably about 2″ though … LOL!
    thank you in advance for your reply.
    Regards,
    Jessica from Willow Vale NSW (right beside the Golf Course at Mittagong)

  2. rachaeldaisy says:

    Your class posts are always so full of gorgeous projects!! What flavour was the cake? It looks delicious!

  3. broderie says:

    The little purse is one of Trish Harper’s , I’m lucky enough to have one myself. The cake had a patchwork look about too !

  4. Janet Lucas says:

    I am sure I need patterns for the beautiful blocks made by jane sue2 and Marilyn…..are they your design?…..and what are you reading this year?…I just finished the new malla nunn

  5. I am always amazed at the amount of work your ladies produce! I simply can’t pick a favourite today, they are all so fabulous ……. but I do love the fussy cut hexies. I am drooling over the cake, as this is a “fast” day, and it’s still 45 minutes until dinner!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

