Catching up!

It’s the beginning of a new week, and I still haven’t caught up you up on last week’s happenings!! So here goes…..

Last Saturday, GJ and I went on a visit to Quilts in the Barn where Linda had some quilts for sale, as well as some blocks from Mary, aaand, the lovely Jennifer from A Piece of Cloth was visiting with her fabulous array of vintage fabrics.

We had a lovely day, meeting lots of people, including a mother and daughter, Ineke and Kath, who came all the way from Perth, especially for the event! Now that’s obsession, er, dedication to your quilting!! (Hi Ineke and Kath!!)

And yes my lovelies, you know me too well, my wallet came out and I received goodies in return! Wanna see??!!

First, a block from Mary’s collection

20140515-150612.jpgI love each of the fabrics in this, and adore the block pattern – hoping to make a few, but don’t hold your breath! It’s a real make-do-and-mend block…..scrummy!

Then from Jennifer, these 5″ squares packs

20140515-150814.jpg(thinking sashed four-patches??) and these fabrics just said “take me home”…..

20140515-150909.jpg…..and so…..

20140515-150939.jpgI did!! (The orange elephants are for Poppet!).

This last piece, also from Jennifer, I fell in love with

20140515-151123.jpgNot sure why, but it spoke to me!

Tuesday I met up with some friends for lunch and sewing.

A beautifully laid table, with a bouquet of Autumn foliage, herbs and vegetable leaves.

20140515-151732.jpgWho knew such “ordinary” greenery could look so pleasing! GJ is so talented!!

20140515-151825.jpgWe were served delicious home made pumpkin soup by GJ

20140515-151925.jpgwith tasty savoury scones from Linda

20140515-152100.jpgand sweet scones from yours truly

20140515-152133.jpgI was appliquéing the block I showed you yesterday, GJ’s Cousin H is stitching with some woolly bits

20140515-152246.jpg(love this!), and Linda was sewing up a storm with her hexies

20140515-152334.jpgbut got a little carried away; this is what happens when you’re not paying attention!!

20140515-152515.jpgAll was put to rights without too much heartache!

I think we’re now up to speed on last week, stay tuned for more!!

I’ve just been proof reading this post…….Ah, so much fabric to play with….so I’m off to do just that. Have a lovely Sunday!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching up!

  1. Suz says:

    Looks like it was a great week- food, friends and fabric! Happy sewing!

  2. Kyle says:

    I had read about Linda’s sale. I’m envious. I love Jennifer’s idea of charm packs with those vintage fabrics. A perfect way to fluffy up your collection. Now it’s too many ideas and not enough time! Which is way better than the reverse!

  3. rachaeldaisy says:

    It is so refreshing to see gorgeous vintage fabrics rather than the latest range of something. I love all your choices. The charm pack look particularly fun! The scones look tasty, I think I’ll need to make a batch soon, it’s that time of year.

  4. lizzie says:

    oh i love some of your vintage fabrics, good choices !
    and lunch looked very good too, sorry i was not able to come.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

