Autumn

Not to be repetitive or boring – I realise I have been going on about Autumn a bit(!) – but I do enjoy this time of year.

It’s lovely to have cool nights for sleeping

20140505-164920.jpgto feel life slowing down a little after the frenzy of Summer

20140505-163932.jpgand the vividness of the leaf colours have been a wonder this year, which really appeals to the quilter in me and stirs my soul

20140505-163833.jpg
These were all taken on my walk on Monday (well I had to after all that cake on Saturday!!) and I could have stopped a hundred times to snap colour, shape, light and effect.

For example, fancy seeing mushrooms?/toadstools? growing in a suburban naturestrip. (I wasn’t going to taste to determine what they were!!)

20140505-164607.jpgThe hues in this moss on a low fence contrast so well with the bricks and the leaves

20140505-164748.jpgand these ones are working in symmetry

20140505-164818.jpgThere’s even beauty in the seed heads left after flowering

20140505-165452.jpgI’m enjoying the rain, the grey skies, knowing that colder weather is coming; a time to nestle, a time to relax, to cosy up, to slow down.

My new mugs even reflect my love of Autumn!

20140505-165927.jpgand I’ve found a delicious liquorice (or as Pa Kettle used to say as a boy lissoriss!) tea to slowly sip and savour

20140505-170046.jpg
Autumn – I just love it!

20140505-170257.jpg
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Autumn

  1. Kyle says:

    As I’m heading into summer here in Colorado, autumn really is my favorite season, as well, as are the colors of fall.

  2. Helen F says:

    YES M- AUTUMN IS MY FAVOURITE SEASON SO PRETTY WITH ALL THE LEAVES AND NOT AS WINDY AS SPRING!!!! LOVE THE PHOTOS!! (GETTING A BIT “FRAYED” ARTISTIC!)

  3. Jenny says:

    Beautiful post, as usual! Thanks for sharing!
    Jenny

  4. Rachel Boxshall says:

    I have not experienced an autumn for 3 years now and your photos and text are a great reminder that there are 4 seasons and not just ‘hot’ or ‘hot and wet’ like I have here in Jakarta! Beautiful photos bringing back beautiful memories,, thank you!

  5. Jenny M says:

    I LOVE Autumn! And your new mugs are gorgeous.

  6. Great pics Meridithe, Melbourne in Autumn really is a lovely time. Clean and fresh.

  7. rachaeldaisy says:

    I’ve been enjoying swishing through crunchy leaves too. There’s a freshness in the autumn air that is rejuvenating after our hot summer. Your photos are lovely and capture Autumn beautifully.

  8. treadlemusic says:

    Love that low speckled brick wall!!! This past winter, though quite harsh and long(!), was ideal for quilting pursuits!!!! A definitely contrast to the warm outdoor days you are just now finishing and which we look forward to. Can’t wait to see photos of your chilly days creativity!!! Hugs……….

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

