Bagging it up

I had a delightful squishy parcel in the mail last week, which reminded me that I’ve missed showing you something.

For our MSG Sydney trip, we were asked if we would like to participate in a sewing bag exchange. Sounded like a great idea to me, so I got to and stitched up a bag.

20140414-171907.jpgNot knowing who the recipient would be caused a little angst, but I figured I couldn’t go wrong with Kokka fabric! Then I went a tad overboard and made/bought some little bits and pieces to go in it!

20140414-172023.jpgAll totally necessary and useful, of course!!

In Sydney, all bags were secretly wrapped in brown paper and given a number. A number was drawn from a bucket by each participant and the corresponding bag received. It was amazing how this random system actually delivered appropriate bags! Like the one I received – lots of my favourite colours!!

20140414-172702.jpgA sweet, practical design and I love it! It’s now housing the appliqué pieces I cut out on the weekend and as I know the bag is from that weekend, they “shouldn’t” get lost in my sewing room!!

20140414-172803.jpgMy bag ended up with my Sydney friend, JenR. It was lovely to catch up with her again, and in the course of (one of several!) conversations, it transpired that she had a little bit extra of a fabric I’ve lusted after for some time. Hence my delightful squishy parcel…..

20140414-173057.jpgwhich contained not one, not two, but Three different fabrics!!

20140414-173146.jpgAren’t they all gorgeous??!! (the donkey is the one I’ve lusted after!!), plus a lovely card

20140414-173244.jpgin which JenR suggested the ribbon could be kept for Poppet to use in her hair! Thanks JenR!!

Now, what to do with my treasured donkey fabric??

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bagging it up

  1. Tina says:

    Meredithe this is such a great post! I’ve always wanted to try bags but have been a little intimidated as I’m not the best at sewing. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Susan Snooks says:

    Maybe a bag! You are forever lusting after pretty bags! Whatever you do, enjoy it!

  3. Squishy parcels are the best. I love the fabrics you received. And I must have one of those wee cutting mats you included in your bag exchange.

  4. treadlemusic says:

    Score!!!!!!!! I can totally understand your feelings toward that donkey fabric!!!!!! Fun………

  5. Ann says:

    Wow, how great for your recipient to get all those wonderful extras!! How nice of you. Love your donkey fabric too!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

