Obsessing over Material Obsession!

On our recent trip to Sydney, I mentioned that one of the shops we visited was Material Obsession.

Since returning home, I keep thinking how I’d like to go back and explore this shop some more. It was a tad crowded with all of us vying for fabrics and notions, and it seems to me that this is a store which deserves more than a flying visit.

In the meantime, I can savour in part with Kathy’s latest book, which I bought while there

20140414-165507.jpgThis is another beautiful publication from Kathy, with some stunning photography by her husband, John

20140414-165826.jpg(often begging the question, how??!)

20140414-165922.jpgFabulous quilts with clear instructions

20140414-170131.jpgand Kathy’s trademark, informative explanations of how each quilt came about

20140414-170446.jpgplus chapters with insightful commentary, complete with Kathy’s urgings to push our boundaries!

There is much to ponder in this book, fabulous quilts to admire, new techniques to try, and the sheer joy of wondering at Kathy’s use of colour and fabrics which I so admire about this quilter.

I’m enjoying this read immensely and hope to explore some of the quilts in my own way before too long!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Obsessing over Material Obsession!

  1. Carrolyn V says:

    Drool, drool, drool…….are all of you Australian quilters so incredibly talented??????? You, Kathy, your quilting friends, etc. are amazing!

  2. Kyle says:

    I recently got two of Kathy’s books. I’ve been pondering as well.

  3. Rachaeldaisy says:

    This is another inspiring book from Kathy! I love the variety of the quilts in the book and the photos, as you’ve mentioned, are wonderful!!

  4. Fiona Lazenby says:

    I’m currently collecting fabrics (colours that are way outside my usual) to make one of her quilts. I think I might go to Sydney for the Craft and Quilt fair in July and also visit some of my favourite shops. It was really good to catch up with you at AQC.

  5. audrey says:

    I’ve mostly gone to this fabulous quilt store (The Buggy Barn) while they are hosting an outdoor quilt show. At that time the store is always so packed I can’t even think much less take it all in properly! So lovely to go back on a different day and browse without the commotion.:)

  6. That looks like a very good book. I am in need of colour, after working on the black, white and red sampler quilt!!
    Have a good weekend, Anne xoxo

  7. Glenda Cust says:

    Divine shop , divine book ! I’ve done a couple of bom with them and loved it !
    Gxx

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

