Pushing the Boundaries – part 3

I’m so tired today, but need to finish off the weekend adventures for you. If I make mistakes with this post, please forgive me!

Lynette has a little companion, who kept us entertained with his puppy antics all weekend…..

20140312-174402.jpg..this is Buddy. Doesn’t he have the sweetest face?

20140312-174439.jpgMonday morning dawned mild; another hot day was on the way!

Annie had been bravely machine piecing Feathered Star

20140312-174647.jpgsuch tiny pieces! Not something I’d tackle on the machine; my sample was hand pieced! Annie likes a challenge! By weekend’s end she’s this far along

20140312-174814.jpgwith lots of thread ends and the unpicker at hand!!

Eileen did some homework overnight and we were able to pin parts together to see how these blocks can join….

20140312-174951.jpgBarb is well underway with her second block

20140312-175022.jpgCheryl and Kaye had talked overnight and decided that maybe, just maybe(!) hand piecing might not be so scary, and could they please give it a try? That’s a request I would Never turn down!!

So after some tuition , Cheryl is this far along with her block

20140312-175310.jpgand Kaye with hers

20140312-175339.jpgThere was more delicious food

20140312-175409.jpgand after partaking of just a bit(!)

20140312-175445.jpgthere was time for a little more stitching before packing up and heading home.

Thank you ladies for a fabulous weekend! It was lovely to meet you all and share this love of fabric and sewing, whichever way you decide to do it! I shall be back in November to see your finished quilts! Yes, that’s the challenge they’ve been set by Heather!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pushing the Boundaries – part 3

  1. Suz says:

    i have made a Feathered Star by machine but it is slow going! Annie’s colour choices are very bold!

  2. Cheryl says:

    We had such a great time Meredithe, you made me feel like I could achieve anything by the end of the weekend! Here’s cheers to new friendships and the sewing challenges ahead 🙂

  3. I wouldn’t tackle that feathered star by hand or machine!! But I would have no trouble tackling the food ……

  4. I forgot to say – Buddy is adorable!!

  5. thimbleanna says:

    Haha — I love the placement of the unpicker with the teeny feathered star — that’s some precise work!

  6. Helen F says:

    No wonder you are exhausted after that full on weekend!!! The quilts are going to look fantastic luuv their bright and out there fabric choices!! x

  7. Pip says:

    I made the Feathered Star by machine also, as Suz commented it is slow going. Loving all the fabric choices that everyone made. I love hand piecing what I don’t like is the cutting out and marking everything 😦 that is what really slows me down.

  8. I am soooooo a template girl. Love every one of these. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

