Pushing the Boundaries – part 2

Day 2 of the template workshop was great! So much was achieved. I’ll show you in a bit, but first I should explain the posts’ headings; most of the students hadn’t used acrylic templates before, many of them chose fabrics outside their comfort zone, and some were trying a new technique…..hand piecing!! I do love to challenge my students!! It was one of the students who actually used the phrase “pushing the boundaries”, and I thought it was very apt!

The sun was shining boldly again, and I took the time to snap a few shots in Lynette’s home

20140309-201908.jpgthen it was off to Heather’s, and some pics from around the property

20140309-202100.jpgLots of interesting things to see!

20140309-202150.jpgThere were lots of questions, lots of decisions, and lots of sewing throughout the day. And in between, more delicious food!

20140309-202750.jpg
By day’s end, Anne had a finished Airplane block

20140309-202907.jpgand more choices made

20140309-203032.jpg
Cheryl a finished Pinwheel block

20140309-202954.jpgVal, a good start on Parson’s Geese

20140309-203213.jpglikewise Faye with Sunburst

20140309-203343.jpgand Cheryl (the other Cheryl!) with Carpenters Wheel

20140309-203456.jpgKaye had a finished Icecream Sundae

20140309-203547.jpgBarb with her version of Pinwheel

20140309-203629.jpgand Lynette with Dogwood

20140309-203702.jpgHaven’t they done well?!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pushing the Boundaries – part 2

  1. Suz says:

    I love the blue wicker chair! Your students must have been very proud of themselves!

  2. Doreen says:

    All your posts tell me one thing……if I was with you I would weigh many many more pounds than I should!!!!!!! I love those fabrics of Anne’s!!!! I, too, love that blue wicker and the garden white wire items!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!!!!!!! Hugs…………………..

  3. Quilter 501 says:

    Really want to know where I can buy those templates…either here in the USA or in Australia to be shipped here. I have bought several at material obsession but not all of these are available.

    Ps…my golfer is salivating as spring is trying to come thru the ice and snow!

  4. What a wonderful weekend! I am sure that all those who pushed their boundaries will continue on to great things. Already they have made wonderful blocks. I hope we will see more of their progress.

  5. Kay Cumming says:

    Thankyou Meredithe for travelling up and sharing the weekend with us, we all had a fabulous time, great food, hosts, atmosphere, fabric & company…….. Your teaching is so relaxing and encouraging, yes! even learnt your hand sewing technique. Out of our comfort zone, but thoroughly enjoyed it. Glad we decided to had a go. may not get a quilt finished, but you never know. Looking forward to our journey and completing a quilt for November, when we will catch up with you again. Thankyou so much. Kay

  6. Glenda says:

    Love Lynn’s nicks and knacks! , gorgeous home !
    And the blocks look wonderful, I think I feel a dogwood quilt coming on !!!
    Love gjxx

  7. Of course I like the rusty things in the garden! Excellent progress by your students I love the bright fabrics. As for the food ……. yum!!!

  8. thimbleanna says:

    Wow — looks like you had a super fun weekend. I can’t imagine sewing outside — it’s freezing with snow on the ground here LOL. You have such a great set of templates — it must be super fun to see what people make with them!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

