Sunshine and Sorrento

(Or, “I’ve always wanted to make a basket quilt”!!)

Tuesday was a beach day. A Sorrento day actually. Friends had been invited down to spend some time with Linda, and of course, GJ and I jumped at the chance!

I can’t begin to tell you how quickly Linda whipped through the finishing of several quilts! Before I could get the camera out, one was off the design wall and the next one on!! I did manage to snap a couple baskets

20140306-181747.jpgDeb had a great op shop find in this cross stitch diary from 1969!

20140306-181846.jpgOf course, there was food

20140306-181929.jpg(yes! more scones!!)

and stitching

20140306-182006.jpgToo soon it was time for GJ and I to depart. (Very sad faces!) To lengthen the day, GJ suggested we have a stop on the beach

20140306-182235.jpgand what could be more iconic on an Australian beach but

20140306-182403.jpgand a walk on the

20140306-182432.jpgand a paddle in the

20140306-182502.jpgHaven’t done that for years!! Blissful!!

The perfect way to end a delightful day!

20140306-182549.jpg
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunshine and Sorrento

  1. Carolyn says:

    How wonderful. There is nothing like an ice-cream at the beach.

  2. audrey says:

    Look at those yummy baskets! And that Flat Iron quilt? Totally on my bucket list for someday in the future. Lucky you to hit the beach.:)

  3. What a great day. I suddenly feel like an icecream. I wonder what Tescos sells 🙂

  4. What a wonderful day. I love the beach huts. Bliss ….

  5. Ah – that has brought back wonderful memories of our visit to Sorrento – we had the most wonderful fish and chips for lunch. I shall have to look back at my photos and dream of doing it all again ………

  6. Linda Collins says:

    Next time you need Jammy’s and stay the night!

  7. treadlemusic says:

    Love the fabric cuffed jeans!!!!!!! And, yes, I spotted those scones….I haven’t had an opportunity to make any…yet! Too much sewing/quilting around here!!!! The “beach shots” are ‘to die for’!!!!

  8. thimbleanna says:

    Oh Wow — your day was already pretty perfect and then you capped it off with the beach. Looks Divine!!!

  9. Janet says:

    The beach looks lovely!! So many pretties in your post today. Is the yellow triangle quilt a vintage/antique one? I love that pattern :0)

  10. Hilda says:

    Beautiful basket blocks and love the quilt with the yellow triangles – yum! Icecream and the beach – looks relaxing…

  11. trkingmomoe says:

    I am getting ready to make a basket block. Thanks for the pictures. It looks like a really fun day. Lots of sunshine.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

