A rose by any other name……

MyDearFIL grows, er, grew beautiful roses, and a gorgeous hibiscus, so before his home is sold I decided to take some cuttings. (Thank you, he seems to be settling in well to his new abode.)

Following an idea on pinterest, and having some “spare” potatoes,

I took the cuttings,

dipped the end in hormone rooting powder,

put that end into the potato,

and planted them into potting mix…….

20140228-081529.jpgAnd this…..

is what is growing……!!!

20140228-081625.jpg
Me thinks the roses are now potatoes!

I’ve taken some new cuttings, just of the roses, and potted them up without the potatoes!

20140228-081729.jpgWish me luck!

Here’s hoping you’re having more gardening success than yours truly!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A rose by any other name……

  1. Jennifer G says:

    What happened to your potatoes? Did you throw them out? That’s pretty funny. I never heard of anchoring the new cuttings into potatoes. Sounds logical, until they get hyped up on that rooting hormone and take off!

  2. I had a similar situation where I wanted to save a special rose and approach a nearby rose nursery. They struck them for me and I also had enough done for the family as a special gift
    Cheers
    Lynne

  3. Helen F says:

    M why don’t you just prune the original roses and transplant them in your garden!!!!

  4. Doreen says:

    Roses and I don’t see “eye to eye”……..a brown thumb here for sure!!!!!

  5. Tracy says:

    Meredithe I’m with Helen – dig up the roses and take them with you! That’s what I did with both my Grandma’s roses and her gardenia

  6. That was funny with the potato. Good luck with your new cuttings. I dug up my roses and put them in big pots and took them with me.

  7. Annie Andrews says:

    What a laugh

  8. Hilda says:

    Oh goodness – had a good laugh there! I’ve never heard of putting the cutting into a potato but have had success with cuttings in pots without potatoes ….so am sure they will do better 🙂

  9. Lou Lott says:

    hahaha…. I pinned that pin too. Looks like I can happily delete that one as a fail!
    Fingers crossed for this lot of cuttings.

  10. I was just thinking “that’s a good tip” ……. then read the rest! I’m not sure that you can grow on rose cuttings like that – I seem to vaguely remember that you have to graft the cutting to a rootstock. I’m with the others – dig them up before you sell the house!!

  11. June says:

    Roses grow very well from cuttings. You don’t need for them to be grafted. Weather has a lot to do with it. I would put a plastic cover over them of a night. Cut the bottom off of a plastic drink bottle for instance and they have their own little greenhouse. I have grown roses this way for years by cutting. You could cut the original roses right back and transplant them with a dose of Seasol. Love your blog, one of my favourites. Good Luck with the roses.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

