Summer Movies

I had another day out with Miss Helen last week, and this time Mrs Mac joined us.

Craft Haven of Berwick has changed hands, and as this shop was on our way to the movies, of course we had to call in!

20140127-170339.jpgAs you can see, lots of nice goodies; lovely giftware, pretty fabrics, good range of haberdashery, but I restrained myself after indulging in Geelong!

“Saving Mr Banks” was our movie choice, and we all enjoyed it (two hanky job for this sook!!), and learnt lots about P L Travers (she was an Aussie!!), the author of the Mary Poppins books – I had no idea there were books, plural!!

On Sunday, The Golfer and I took MyDearFIL to see “The Railway Man”. Man’s inhumanity to man still astounds me! The acting was superb, another two hanky job!, and a quite harrowing experience.

Seen any good movies lately?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Movies

  1. Suz says:

    Both great movies- loved them both! Have you seen “The Book Thief”? Another harrowing tale!

  2. Helen F says:

    Yep – we came home and watched Mary Poppins after Mr Banks and you luuuved it – Lets go fly a kite…………….

  3. alison says:

    Philomena. another true story about unwed mothers in Ireland. They were banished to the convent as their families were ashamed of them, even though most of them were ignorant about where babies come from. There are hundreds of mothers and children searching for each other without much help. I shed a few tears.

  4. Well done on being restrained and not coming home with lots of fabric! We tend to watch things on DVD now, as there is only a small cinema here – on Sunday we watched “Olympus has Fallen” with Gerard Butler (hunky Scot!!). It is a real thriller – I stopped sewing several times, as I was so engrossed in the action!!

  5. Sadly, I missed Saving Mr. Banks and will have to wait for the DVD {sniff}{sniff} Everyone has raved about it and I know I’ll love it — I loved Mary Poppins as a child and used to sing all the songs from the movie. I loved Philomena, enjoyed American Hustle and Hunger Games (Jennifer Lawrence has been a busy girl) and DETESTED and I mean HATED Wolf of Wall Street. Three hours of my life I wish I could get back. Di Caprio did a great job, but the movie was WAY too long and what a load of crap! ;-D Aren’t you glad you asked LOL?

  6. andrea says:

    12 years a slave was my most recent movie – excellent film but difficult.to watch in places. Definitely need hankies for this one x

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

