Travails and Treasures

Now that MyDearFIL is ensconced in his new accommodation, it is up to The Golfer and I to clear out his home. Have I told you The Golfer is an only child? The Golfer is an only child. That’s good; no fighting over who gets what, and bad; all the work and sorting is ours!

The Golfer’s Mum died 22 years ago, and my abiding memories of her are her infectious giggle, her smile, her love of cats (shiver!), and her famous, secret(!) recipes! Well, MyDearMIL, I’ve found your recipe book!! I may yet be able to make her wonderful sponge cake!! Um….there was going to be a photo, but I can’t seem to find it in our boxes!! (She may still be thwarting me!!)

I’ve discovered too that MyDearMIL had a penchant for linen; we will never need to buy towels again! This is but one of three piles I’ve scored (all unused!)

20140120-185302.jpgand as you can see, there’s lots of table cloths. Sheets, pillow cases and tea towels abound too, many still in their packaging! And she had the cheek to (good naturedly) chide me for my fabric purchases!!

These, however, have stolen my heart…

20140120-185629.jpg….sweet, sweet aprons….

20140120-185822.jpg…I love the gathers on this one, and the ric rac

20140120-185703.jpg…and the curves on this one

20140120-190015.jpg….some, I suspect, are hand made, whether by her or not, I’m not sure (The Golfer thinks it is possible)

20140120-190124.jpg…and some still have their labels!

20140120-190200.jpgMyDearMIL’s love of cats extended to a plethora of tea towels, many of which have never been used, saved, I guess, “for best”!!

20140120-190735.jpgThese I’ve very gladly given to Miss H!

20140120-190900.jpgBack to sorting and packing!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Travails and Treasures

  1. It probably seems like a daunting task to go through all of your in-laws possessions but I hope you find things to make memories with. Lovely little aprons!!

  2. Deb says:

    I’m with you re the cats, but oh, the aprons. Aren’t they wonderful. They bring back such warm and wonderful memories of a time gone by. I always thought they should make aprons for the back, I habitually run my hands over my derrière! Love aprons. What a find and good luck with your ‘job’.

  3. Glenda says:

    What a wonderful connection with a by gone era !
    Love the collection and memories ,
    The towels and aprons are divine !!
    I know it’s hard work , but we can enjoy the treSures found !!!
    Gjxx

  4. treadlemusic says:

    The aprons are so “today” and the cats…….perfect for blocks for a quilt…….I love them (and I’m not one who is super crazy for the critters…they’re ok). After some elapsed time, maybe you will see other purposes for all these treasures!!!

  5. Jennifer G says:

    Since it has been such a long time, the sorting must have been more fun memories that you were able to laugh about instead of cry over. That’s good. My husband is also an only child – our findings will likely be unopened packages from QVS (it’s a popular online shopping show).

  6. mandymunroe says:

    The aprons are gorgeous, love the 70’s green one. How lovely some will stay with you 🙂

  7. Becky says:

    Oh, my, Meredithe, you scored big with all those towels and aprons. So special coming from your long gone mother-in-law too. The cat towels were cute, but I wouldn’t have kept them either. 🙂

  8. Melissa says:

    Best aprons ever! I have a thing for old aprons and I love the way they tie around the waist without the annoying bib. Treasures that I hope you enjoy wearing. Now you can think of her as you bake the famous sponge cake whilst wearing one of her aprons.

  9. Hilda says:

    Those aprons are just wonderful aren’t they ? am sooo jealous. Good luck with all the sorting – such a difficult job on both a practical and emotional level.
    Hilda

  10. I love the aprons – I remember wearing aprons like them as a child when I “helped” my Mum in the kitchen!
    (and of course I don’t like the cats!)

  11. Helen F says:

    Hey M – I knew Frayed would hate the cat tea towels!!! I think it would make a great kids novelty quilt with all those “crazy” cats!!!! but we all luuuv the pinnies!!!

  12. thimbleanna says:

    Wow — what a great stash of aprons! Good luck with the sorting — that’s a daunting job!

  13. Wow quite a haul. A blast from the past. The aprons are great and the cat towels cute, but you have to be a cat fanatic to keep them. I’m sure they’d sell like hot cakes on etsy or eBay. Then you could buy more fabric!
    You say you mil teased you about the fabric purchases, so she have a laugh over it.

  14. marian says:

    OMG it brings back memories of going through my my mum’s stuff.
    How cute are those aprons, not to mention the adorable kitty teatowels.. love em!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

