FAL 2014 – can I do it??

It’s beyond hot here!

Today is Day 5 of heat, and Day 4 of over 40C!

Regrettably, The Golfer and I had to venture out yesterday afternoon in the 44C. Stepping out from cool air conditioning into the searing day, it felt like you could reach out and touch the heat, it was almost palpable. Inside 3 minutes we were both grease spots and the car took soooo long to cool down, with “ouch” steering wheel and “ouch” seat belts to negotiate too! I haven’t heard our minimum temperature overnight, but I guess it wasn’t much below 30C.

The weather bureau is predicting 44C again today. My poor Golfer has to attend a funeral today and I assured him he Did Not need to wear a tie (mind you, I did see him carrying his suit jacket out the door!). And I? I am taking Full Advantage of the air conditioner, having settled myself directly underneath it’s cool breeze and to take my mind off what’s outside, I’ve been trawling blogs……and come across one particularly interesting site.

Do you remember my infamous List? Which became two Lists? I was sure that this would help me achieve lots in 2013.

Did it work???

NAH!!

Having The Lists on the fridge was incentive for about…ooh….3 weeks! Then they just blended into that “familiar things” eye sweep, you know, something new looks wonderful for a certain period of time, then it becomes part of the furniture, as they say.

Very little from The Lists was achieved, but a FAL……

well…..

maybe……

could be…..

…..The Thing!! I can hear you asking, what’s an FAL?? (It’s ok, I did too!) It’s a Finish Along. You can read all about it at The Littlest Thistle

Remembering that The Lists were totally over ambitious (ya think??!!), I’ve opted for a more restrained approach. Here’s what I hope to Finish in the first quarter of this year. (And by “finish” I mean top finished!)

1:: x and +

20140117-103640.jpgI bought this kit (oh, no!!) two years ago now (well, 18 months!). Still love it and sooo want to make it.

2:: Dashing Hues

20140117-103854.jpgOne of my own designs and something that’s been brewing for some time in the brain. It’s finally made its presence undeniable! Mostly cut out and partially sewn, I’m hoping you might join me with this one – more soon!!

3:: Flowerbed

20140117-104103.jpgThis Millrose Escapade from last year just (just!!) needs the borders embellished, quilting and binding. But needs to be done before embarking on this year’s Millrose Escapade!

So, fingers crossed!

Just hanging out for the cool change that’s due between 6.00 and 8.00 tonight!

My empathy to all of you in South Australia and the rest of Victoria!! Hang in there!! If it’s hot where you are, stay cool….and if it’s cold, stay warm!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to FAL 2014 – can I do it??

  1. audrey says:

    Your list seems very doable! And I thought about that FAL too, but I thought they had to be completely finished quilts which would never happen with me.:)

  2. treadlemusic says:

    Love the FAL idea!!! I guess that’s kinda what I’m looking at when I say I’m using my stash only. Cuz in my stash are these fab pkgs of fabric all pulled together to make the quilt, whose directions I’ve included in the bag. The “X&+” quilt looks like a good one!!!! Stay as cool as you are able……Your heat is as serious as our cold/wind chills!!!!! Hugs………………….

  3. Im still at work. Had no air con all week but a new unit was put in yesterday great ….. So I thought. Turns out it was only for the boss and financial controllers office !!!!
    Reception and sales still have none !
    Grrrrrrrrrrrrr

  4. Pip says:

    I think the cool change is very near here in Adelaide (fingers crossed anyway) I remember your list well, I also had a list (way too ambitious as well) so I’m just concentrating on finishing things as well (top finished, of course) Looking forward to seeing more of Dashing Hues (a very intriguing title) in the future.

  5. Helen F says:

    Its foul down here toooo!!!. Downstairs is lovely and cool but by the time the airconditioning ducts pfoofs it upstairs it so much hotter up here!!! brought in my fan from home to help cool it down!!! ROLL ON THE COOL CHANGE!!!!!!!

  6. thimbleanna says:

    FORTY FOUR??? OUCH!!! I’m surprised you can do any sewing at all! Your projects look so fun — especially that X & +. Looking forward to seeing what that second project is!!!

  7. Katy says:

    Sending cooling thoughts!

    The FAL is for complete finishes, but #3 definitely looks like a candidate, and #1 and #2 could probably happily show up as finishes in Q2 🙂

  8. Ann says:

    Was only thinking about my list the other day. It mysteriously disappeared!!! However, I know I didn’t finish much if anything off it. I did finish other projects though!! Hopefully this year will be more productive. A x

  9. We can do it! As long as those pesky new ideas/projects don’t pop up too often 🙂

  10. Janet says:

    That heat must be hell, ive been in 42 and nearly died but you guys have had it for so many days. I’m loving your list of projects, all beauties.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

