With Flour and Eggs……

Have you discovered the joys of making your own pasta? While it’s not something I do a lot, when I’m in the mood and have the time, it’s great fun!

20140113-202602.jpgOn Saturday afternoon, that urge overcame me.

20140113-202743.jpgThere’s something earthy about getting one’s hands in to mix together the eggs, oil, salt and flour,

20140113-202932.jpgand something meditative in the kneading (my recipe calls for the dough to be kneaded until “smooth and silky”……ah!!)

20140113-203055.jpgand something gratifying in having worked out how to use the pasta maker thingy; that turning of the handle and seeing the dough coming out flat, then in fettuccine strips (no pic – far too hard with only two hands!!)

And something immensely satisfying to be nourished by the fruits of one’s labours – and Pa Kettle’s labours of home growed, fabulously and aromatically delicious garlic, along with Italian sausage, red pepper, snow peas and red onion…..

20140113-203336.jpgall mixed together with a generous dollop of mascarpone, and a healthy grating of Parmesan!

Hmm, hmm! Wonderful Saturday night dinner!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to With Flour and Eggs……

  1. Helen F says:

    looks scrumptious!!!! after tonights effort I don’t think I will bake a cake again!!!!

  2. Cathy says:

    I’m coming to your place for tea!!! xo

  3. Sue Whitburn says:

    Yum, save some for me!! X

  4. I’ve never made pasta – maybe one day!! It looks delicious. It’s a “fast” day today, so I’m about to have a sweet red pepper (the long pointy one) stuffed with low calorie home made chilli con carne ….. yum!!

  5. Jennifer G says:

    I love good pasta! Had never even contemplated making it from scratch – perhaps I should try it! Looks so good in your picture – great work!

  6. Pip says:

    I haven’t made fresh pasta in ages, you’re right about it being something fun to do when you’re in the mood and have the time, so maybe when the weather cools down a bit I will revisit the idea, there should be lots of ripe tomatoes available to make a pasta sauce by then.

  7. treadlemusic says:

    We haven’t made pasta in a long time. We have a pasta maker/cutter but just have gotten busy with other things. That looks amazing!!!!!!!

  8. Annie Andrews says:

    I’ve had one of those lovely machines for over 20 years, you’ve spurred me on but maybe after the heat,
    Annie

  9. One year my Christmas present was an electric motor for the pasta machine (we are prone to making rather large amounts – a kilo or two at a time – which can become tiring if all done by hand). But really it’s a remarkably easy thing to make and the taste amply rewards any effort. Looks delicious!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

