A Little Light Reading

At the beginning of last year I joined with Little White Dove and her 13 books in 2013. As 2013 is now over, Little White Dove has done a review of her reading, and here’s mine.

I started the year with…..

20140108-141018.jpg(and thoroughly enjoyed the television series too!).

Would you believe it, I finished the year with another Kerrry Greenwood, this time from her Corinna Chapman series…..

20140108-141532.jpgAlso set in Melbourne, but this time in the present day, Corinna is a “baker and reluctant investigator”.

In between there were lots of murder mysteries, several adventure/thriller types, some sagas, a few new authors tried and liked, a couple tried and will be one of’s; in total 53 books read! And I’ll be keeping a record of my 2014 reads too.

What have you been reading lately?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Little Light Reading

  1. Kyle says:

    I just finished watching Phryne Fisher’s mysteries on Netfiix. They were great and fun stories. I’ll have to check out Kerry Greenwood’s other series.

  2. Helen F says:

    Hey M – I have been reading your “Phyrnne Fisher” books!!!!! and luuuuving them!! – also some classics, old favourites – kindle downloads etc!!!!

  3. Tina says:

    I did not know there was a book to go with the Miss Fisher TV series!! Thank you 🙂

  4. treadlemusic says:

    Love the TV series!!!!!! Haven’t done the books,…,yet!!!!! Maybe this will be the push I need!!! Hugs……..

  5. I’ve recently been watching the Miss Fisher ‘s Mysteries here in the UK. I thoroughly enjoyed then. Now I’m going to hunt out the books.

  6. I have been reading the Corinna Chapman and Phryne Fisher books too (on my Kindle) and thoroughly enjoying them. I have the first series of Miss Fisher on DVD and we have been recording the second series – looking forward to watching it. Just now I am reading (The woman who went to bed for a year” by Sue Townsend (she wrote the Adrian Mole books). It is very funny!

  7. Robyn says:

    I haven’t read the Phryne Fisher bks but enjoyed the TV series – especially the costumes.
    I have just read the latest Gary Disher thriller Bitter Wash Road & can highly recommend it. Have also read the latest Tim Winton Eyrie & was very disappointed.

  8. I’ve started the year very comfortably by re-to-the-nth-degree-reading every one of Garth Nix’s “Old Kingdom” titles – be they novels, novellas or short stories – so that I’m ready for the release later in the year of the next title, even though its events predate much of what’s already been written about. And, yeah, they’re advertised as YA fiction. Phooey to that. I was ecstatic to receive my own copy of the trilogy as a 50th-birthday present (some years ago now, of course; I’d borrowed them before that but they’re the sorts of books you simply need in your collection).

    I’ve loved the Phryne Fisher series (and, yes, there’s been much discussion on some forums about how different it is from the books, but if Kerry Greenwood is happy with the changes then I think we should go with the flow). I’d read quite a few of the books a long while ago and have read all the Corinna titles, too (luckily my family grew up on whodunnits, so if I don’t have them myself or can’t track them down at my local library, one or the other of my sisters can often help out).

    Yes, let’s all have a wonderful year reading (and knitting; I’m still knitting despite the heat and haven’t yet succumbed to the lure of quilting…). Cheers.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

