Unexpected Pleasures

Thank you all so much for your lovely Christmas and New Year comments and well wishes. I hope you had a lovely time at Christmas. How is the New Year treating you so far? We’ve had a pretty stressful time over the last month; The Golfer’s Dad (MyDearFIL) was hospitalised early December, thankfully he’s recovered but it has been deemed that, at 90(!), even with The Golfer’s continuing daily visits and help, MyDearFIL can no longer live at home and needs to go into care. This, let me tell you, is no easy feat, and particularly more difficult at Christmas time with all the public holidays and reduced staff levels!! However, due to the wonderful support of some girlfriends in the industry, a place has been found and MyDearFIL moves in tomorrow. The Golfer and I have spent today ferrying furniture and clothing to the new place, and I’m currently sitting with a large glass of vino, awaiting the arrival of pizza for dinner…..we think we’ve earned it!!

Amidst all the stress and worry, daily hospital visits and appointments with care agencies, there have been some unexpected pleasures……

:: I started walking again on 27 December (after a month of nothing!!). Seeing the colours of the purple and lime green of the Jacaranda tree against a blue Summer sky is so uplifting…..

20140105-172018.jpg
:: The Golfer gave me a set of cordless headphones for Christmas, and I’ve discovered “I Heart Radio” (an app) where I can nominate music I like, create a music library, have the app choose similar music for me, and listen to it….all for free!!

20140105-172822.jpg
:: A squishy parcel was the furthest thing on my mind just before Christmas, so I was delighted to receive these fabric club fabrics from Material Obsession

20140105-173111.jpg
:: The Kettles came to stay for a week over Christmas, which is a pleasure in itself, but added to that, Ma Kettle gave me these beautiful boxes

20140105-173256.jpgwhich will be long treasured!

20140105-173331.jpgNeedless to say, there’s been very little in the way of stitching, but once MyDearFIL is settled, I’m hoping to rectify that situation!!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Unexpected Pleasures

  1. Helen F says:

    Hey M – hope everything goes smoothly tomorrow!!! The new materials are simply gorgeous!!! You forgot them for show and tell yesterday!!! The Jacaranda’s are sooo beautiful – they line the streets of Rosanna and are a glorious sight to see!!! Have a good week xxxx

  2. I hope all goes well for you FIL. We are nearing that problem here. My Dad is only 80, but does not manage his meds or daily activities like tidying up after meals and hygiene activities like he used to. I’m sure this new situation will give you peace of mind. Love the boxes! I have a few, nothing as nice as that carved one though, sigh.

  3. treadlemusic says:

    Yes, these “role reversals” are hard on everyone!!! Better/easier on all if such a place is in the picture. Speaking of picture….that flowering tree is glorious!!!! Keep those warm photos coming from your direction……we desperately need something green and warm to focus on!!!!!! Those fabrics are so full of beautiful promise!!!!! The best to you and hugs always……………………..

  4. Liz McMahon says:

    It’s tough I know but once he’s settled in it’s a relief to know that there is care and support 24/7..time to start sewing again.
    xxx

  5. Hilda says:

    Beautiful jacaranda – and walking clears the head wonderfully doesn’t it ? All the best with this difficult time – been there, done that – it is not easy 🙂

  6. Ann says:

    Glad to hear you have your FIL into a good place. Hopefully now you can relax a little and have some pleasurable stitching time. X

  7. Jennifer G says:

    My best wishes to you for the New Year also! I hope your FIL gets settled quickly and loves his new place. My grandmother, at 89, also left her independence and is now living with her youngest daughter. She’s doing great though and we breathe a little easier knowing that she is watched over all the time now. I look forward to your posts daily and get such great inspiration from them! Thank you!

  8. thimbleanna says:

    Oh dear. I hope things are more settled now. It’s so hard for our parents to make that transition — I hope it’s been a smooth one for your FIL.

  9. I know this comment is rather late but I love the picture of the Jacaranda Tree, which brought to mind a book I read several years ago. It is one that I enjoyed a lot, called the Jacaranda Vine, by Tamara McKinley. I love books written about different counties, especially Australia for some reason. The book is very descriptive of Australia and I thought it a really good book. I hope your FIL has settled in and is doing okay with his big move. That is always a hard one to have to cope with for everyone. Hugs……….

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

