Health, Wealth and Happiness

The heading for this post sounds like a toast, doesn’t it? Well, it not too far off it!

First, health. With no voice and on my doctor’s recommendation, I’ve skipped AQM this year and instead took up a long standing offer to join some friends at Millrose where, even if I couldn’t talk, I could still listen (and stitch!). The invite was for the weekend, but GJ and I thought a day trip would be just enough at this stage (much and all as we would have loved to have spent the weekend!!). Yes, the B & B is – just! – open!

Would you like a peek? Sue says it’s not quite finished yet, so with that in mind…..

Beautiful bedrooms….

20131124-120228.jpg

20131124-120246.jpgWhat was that? Closer please? Yes, that is indeed a Lindt choccie and a Liberty lampshade!

20131124-120335.jpgHuge, light, airy, open plan lounge/dining/sewing area….

20131124-120442.jpg

20131124-120503.jpg…with Sue’s elegant, chic touch evident….

20131124-120646.jpg

20131124-120711.jpg(‘scuse my arm – bit hard to take that pic! Did you notice my jacket matches the flowers?!)

Artistic wealth abounded, with a glorious array of show and tell::

In under 24 hours Jenny had bordered three quilts! (That’s as well as sleeping, eating, talking and shopping!)

20131124-122301.jpgthe donkey fabric is soooo cute!

20131124-122338.jpgJenny had never made a yellow quilt….

20131124-122422.jpgI think she’s succeeded, don’t you?

20131124-122515.jpgand all bar 2 pieces were in her collection!

20131124-122555.jpg..and Jenny’s third quilt just made me smile…

20131124-122650.jpgRae’s MSG (Margaret Sampson George) “sheet” is wonderful, with some gorgeous whimsical touches…

20131124-122810.jpgSue’s quilts are T.D.F.!!!

20131124-123009.jpgLinda was making lots of houses….

20131124-123054.jpgCarolyn is so organised in making her MSG….

20131124-123140.jpgSandra was busy hand quilting her hexagon stars…..

20131124-123236.jpg…and it is glorious! This one reminded me of an octopus….

20131124-123348.jpg…here’s some more….

20131124-123452.jpgAnd Joanne…..Joanne!! I forgot to take a photo of what you were working on!! I’m so sorry! Joanne made me very happy by telling me that she’s a reader of my blog (I’m always happy to hear that!!)

And what post of mine on a day out wouldn’t be complete without……FOOD! GJ and I were extremely spoilt and felt like princesses as our hostesses pottered in the kitchen and produced……drum roll please……

20131124-123933.jpgA truly magnificent, scrumptious feast; salmon, salads, cheeses, fruits….d’Ee-lish!! (We thought we’d buy a salad roll from the cafe next door! Nice and all as that would have been too!)

20131124-124250.jpg
Of course, with the shop next door, we visited once a few…oh, ok several times during the course of the day! This shop just keeps getting better and better!

There’s now a Wall of Woolly Bits!!

20131124-124529.jpgas well as lots of other yummies….

20131124-124902.jpgOne visitor to the shop, a lady called Liz, was choosing backing and binding for a joyfully colourful quilt. The fabrics were an eclectic mix, telling a story of Liz’s life; fabrics from her school uniform, her children’s school uniforms, dress fabrics from clothes her mum wore and made for children. Such a special collection….

20131124-125239.jpgLiz decided on the blue spot for her backing and the red stripe for the binding – perfect!

What a happy, happy day!! Thank you to the lovely friends who shared their day, talents, humour, quilts and food with us. GJ and I had a perfectly delightful time, coming home weary but spiritually and creatively satisfied! (It’s a very quiet day here at p and c today!)

’til next time….
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Health, Wealth and Happiness

  1. What a great time you all had. Thanks for the cheerful post.
    Glad your getting better.

  2. Glendacust@gmail.com says:

    It was a glorious day!
    Friends, fabric, food and inspiration!!!
    What more can a girl ask for!!
    Glendaxx

  3. Miriam says:

    Take care Meredithe. Hope your voice is back soon!

    A visit to Millrose is on my list.

  4. What a delightful day. You have talented friends. Great photos. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Oh my – so much gorgeousness, I don’t know what to comment on!! Fabulous quilts, delicious food – and I need woolly bits!!

  6. Ann says:

    What a lovely way to spend a day. The b & b looks gorgeous, the food looks gorgeous and the quilts look gorgeous. Hope it helped with the recovery of your throat. X

  7. Hilda says:

    Wonderful B and B and wonderful work! I love the hexagon star quilt – wow – and the hand quilting looks great too. Have gone back to have another look…
    Your throat sounds horrible – hoping you have a swift recovery 🙂

  8. Liz McMahon says:

    so glad you had a good time and you’ll be pleased to hear that the woolly bits will expand some more next year we hope….
    looking forward to seeing all the girls in December, I missed our woolly day this month..
    xxx

  9. Thanks for all those glorious photos. Sounds like you had a wonderful time. Just hurry up and find that voice and start feeling better. Must be so frustrating for you. Wish I had a Millrose close to me 🙂

  10. Debbie says:

    Hi Meredithe, When I met you at Quilts In The Barn I think I told you that I thought I wanted your life. Now I am sure i want your life!! You really do see the most wonderful shops and quilts and why are you not 20 feet wide with all that wonderful food at your fingertips? Love and best wishes for the silly season XXX

  11. Carolyn says:

    Hi Meredithe. I have been without internet for a couple of months, so I am just catching up on everything that has been going on at p and c. What a wonderful day you and your friends had at Millrose. Such wonderful colours in the fabric and the food. I hope you get better soon. Kind Regards.

  12. thimbleanna says:

    Wow Meredithe! Those projects are ALL fantastic!!! You’re hanging out with some fabulous quilters!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

