Monday Stitching

We had a change of venue this month, and all trooped over to Kim’s beautiful home……aaAaand had a play in her New Studio!! Like to see??

20131022-142037.jpgIt was a delightful day; catching up on news, having quite a few laughs; revelling in Kim’s gorgeous studio (and dreaming of how we could change our homes to accommodate a room just like it!!);

20131022-142438.jpgand seeing what we are each working on.

20131022-142624.jpgThank you so much for all your lovely comments about my little hexagons. Here’s what I did at Monday stitching…..

20131022-142747.jpgYes, four!! They come together so quickly, don’t they? (I do realise I’m preaching to the converted in a lot of cases – bear with me, I’m just discovering the wonderment!!)

I’m just trying to decide if I do them with white joiners…

20131022-142947.jpg…or grey…

20131022-143029.jpgI’m really liking the grey!! (And I’m well aware of what Miss Helen’s opinion to that will be!!)

Loving the Aurifil thread. I’m just using short lengths; it’s a fine thread, sews beautifully and hides itself well too….

20131022-143833.jpg…..and discovering that I don’t have to take four hundred and fifty million whip stitches is….well….just a revelation!!

Linking up with Blossom Heart Quilts for Sew Cute Tuesday!

Happy stitching
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monday Stitching

  1. Ann says:

    I’m with you M I like the grey too and it was such a lovely day. A

  2. Helen F says:

    How long is her studio going to stay like that???? I like the “CRISP” white to show off your bright colours!!! definitely NO grey!!!! (you know me well!) By the way I bet everyone is envious of that gorgeous studio!!!

  3. Fabulous studio ….. and as for your EPP ….. tee hee hee, I’m laughing at your conversion!!

  4. Karen says:

    I love your hexies and have always done them by hand – how do you do yours that the stitches do not show – you said you do not do all the tiny whip stitches – can you share how you do this? perhaps a tutorial or a link to one as you do? Love the studio photos I would love to have a super cute room but hubby and I share a room for sewing/computer he in one corner and I have 3/4’s of the room so I make allowances to decoration 🙂

  5. Karen says:

    p.s. when I say I do them by hand I do not do EPP but print out fabric with Inklingo but at times I would really like to do them EPP instead.

  6. thimbleanna says:

    Looking good Ms. Meredithe! Good luck deciding on a joining color — that’s always the hardest part for me.

  7. jlgwyn Gwyn says:

    Beautiful studio indeed! My cats would love to knock everything over in there … lol. Your EPP hexagons are so crisp and perfect – I can’t wait to see how you will incorporate them together.

  8. audrey says:

    I would LOVE a studio like that! Wonderful! The hand work is so beautiful. I am reading about your EPP success with much interest! I too have been reluctant to commit myself to that much whip stitching.:)

  9. Kim says:

    Thank you for your company on Monday. Wow the photos are great! Is that really my room?!?! I reeaallly like the grey fabric x

  10. Alyce says:

    Ooh yes, I like the grey too! Contrasting, but not too bright.

  11. cloudcoucou says:

    LOVE the hexies…I haven’t tried these yet myself so may be something for next year. I agree with you on the backing…the grey looks best and it’s more practical!! Look forward to seeing more 🙂

  12. Miss E says:

    Those hexagons are soooo cute and I love the photos of the studio. Gorgeous post.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

