The Druthers*

I think I’ve finally dispensed with these….

20131013-131530.jpgand I’m not sure if it’s the transition into Spring and the warmer weather, or what, but I can’t seem to settle to anything….a bad case of The Druthers!

Whilst unwell I didn’t feel much like doing anything strenuous or brain taxing, but I did start to turn my overflowing scrap basket….

20131013-132357.jpg….into several sizes of triangles for a couple of projects and a Triangle Swap I’m doing with Miss GJ….

20131013-132516.jpgIt’s remarkably soothing; tracing, drawing, and cutting out shapes….

20131013-132615.jpg…and I’m so enjoying using my new “tray”, with its inbuilt pencil holder and template/scissor holder!!

I have been tackling my woolly bits borders; one stitched down and the second one underway. No embellishing yet….

20131013-132854.jpgAnd it’s coming up to Australia Quilt Market time, so I’ve started on some samples for my new templates which will be released there….

20131013-133007.jpgNearly done, then it’s time to do the instructions.

Must away, apply some discipline, and finalise the templates.

Anyone need anything from the fridge?!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

* Druthers – as in, “I’d rather” (druther) be doing something else……but I don’t know what!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Druthers*

  1. Suz says:

    Love that tracing tray! Can I see a sand paper base there?!! I seriously need one of those! And that hedgehog fabric is adorable!

  2. Helen F says:

    where did you get that tray from???? is it like the pink one???? hairy stuff looking good x

  3. Karen says:

    love the little circles of thread that you have on the bobbins – nice and handy. Glad you are feeling better!

  4. Di From Brisbane says:

    I too love the sound of that tray. I do most of my tracing, cutting and hand piecing on an old fashioned stable table.. I would love to know how to get a tray like yours !!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. treadlemusic says:

    You are wa-a-a-ay too funny! (Sorry! but you are!) The “d’ruthers” can strike at any time and there’s no real known cure, other than to get up and get moving!! LOL! Your little projects are doing nicely as is your fridge, I’m sure…..and, no thank you, I don’t need anything at the moment!! Glad you’re feeling better!! Hugs…….

  6. LubbyGirl says:

    That’s funny. We grew up (in Tennessee) saying, “Well, if I had my druthers, I’d ______ (fill in the blank)” Never thought I’d hear that phrase anywhere but home. 😆

  7. Miss E says:

    Your dilemma (and mine, at this time of year!) reminds me of a poem called ‘The Old Sailor’ by A.A. Milne, from his collection ‘Now we are six’. It’s about a shipwrecked mariner and the first verse goes like this:
    “There was an old sailor my grandfather knew
    Who had so many things which he wanted to do
    That, whenever he thought it was time to begin,
    He couldn’t because of the state he was in.”
    … a bad case of the druthers is described, and the poem ends thus:
    “And so in the end he did nothing at all,
    But basked on the shingle wrapped up in a shawl.
    And I think it was dreadful the way he behaved –
    He did nothing but basking until he was saved!”

  8. I know just what you mean – when I have a long to-do list, I frequently start something else rather than deal with it!
    Glad you are finally feeling better.
    Love the hhedgehog fabric!

  9. broderie says:

    Happy to know your feeling better Meredithe ! Cutting those scrappy hst’s will cute anything !

  10. broderie says:

    Oops ! Should read ‘cure anything’

  11. thimbleanna says:

    You’re too funny — congrats on that beautiful new fridge! I Love that hedgehog fabric! I also love tracing around templates. I’m going to need a new project pretty soon, just so I can get back to some tracing LOL!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

