Sunday Musings

I cleared out our letter box yesterday and found something really lovely for me amongst the nasty window faced envelopes that are addressed to The Golfer.

20130915-114612.jpgSeeing a Royal Mail stamp always excites me, as I know it will be something from my friend Anne, from the shores of the UK. Inside was one of Anne’s own cards, and a little bag…..

20130915-114924.jpg…containing these gorgeous beads which Anne has sent for me to use on my wooly bits!!

20130915-115010.jpgI’m so excited and plan to use some of them in the border…. Thanks Anne!!

After dropping The Golfer at the club yesterday for his usual Saturday stroll hitting that little white ball, I stopped in at my local favourite coffee shop, via the newsagent next door, and enjoyed a hot chocolate while reading…..

20130915-115438.jpgI very nearly didn’t pick up this copy, as being Australian and not really into Halloween, I didn’t think there’d be much in it to please, but I noticed the front cover mentioned an interview with Tula Pink and thought that would be interesting (which it was!). Then imagine my delight at flipping through the pages to find this gorgeous quilt by one of my favourite quilters/bloggers…..

20130915-115555.jpgKathie is so productive and makes beautiful quilts, the one in this magazine no exception!

I did support our local industry too, and was pleased to see a quilt from Deirdre of The Quilted Crow Girls on the front cover

20130915-120130.jpgand so excited to see an article about Belinda’s second placing in the Wallhanging category at the Home Machine Quilting Show in Salt Lake City, Utah!!

20130915-120521.jpgI do love seeing the talent of our Aussie girls on the world stage – makes me so proud! Congratulations Belinda!!

It’s a tantalising Spring day here in Melbourne town and I really should be out weeding the garden – it’s staring balefully at me! But I had such an awful sleep last night that I can barely get out of my own way!! I am getting the washing done though, as “they” say there’s going to be precipitation in one form or another all week. And I may spend the afternoon catching up on some hand stitching and taped tv – there are two episodes of Vera awaiting (and hopefully I don’t fall asleep half way through!!)

A combination of sunshine and rain has brought out the leaves on our Silver Birch; this time last week there was no sign of green, and now….

20130915-121127.jpgI do so love the lime green of new Spring growth – the perfect colour for fabric!!

What are you up to this Sunday?

Happy stitching
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Musings

  1. Suz says:

    Isn’t it a wonderful day? I am having a much needed ‘tidy up’- a real “Spring Clean!” Love the look of those quilting magazines- might be time to have a splurge!

  2. Belinda Betts says:

    Thanks for that Meredithe, I knew the mag was coming out soon, but its nice to see it in print!

  3. Karen says:

    yes isn’t Kathie’s quilt amazing – I love it

  4. Sharyn says:

    Well like you, I am getting some washing out, and making a completely sinful cake with 6 eggs and 300 g of chocolate, health food I think, and now about to get on the couch and make some Hexies and watch a Judi Dench movie!

  5. Ann says:

    What a lovely way to spend a Sunday. My daughter and I went on the Olivia Newton John cancer wellness walk in ivanhoe. Now I’m off to my decking to do some stitching.

  6. Glendacust@gmail.com says:

    Looove the bead collection !
    Haven’t seen anything like that in Aussie!!!
    Spent a lovely spring day at port Melbourne oval watching box hill hawks kick themselves into the vfl grand final !!!! Oh yes my son plays !!!!!

  7. I love that show VERA. Although it will be a while before those episodes air here ( sometimes they don’t and sometimes they will show one half of a two episode show!) I have been watching SILK and that has been good.
    As far as the magazines go, I think your Aussie magazines have better covers. I too would have passed up that Halloween too.
    Happy Spring! We here in New York are getting ready for our winter. Just turned autumn and we are stock piling wood for the stoves.

  8. Glad you like the beads – I must get on and play with my wooly bits! I forgot to tell you that the little bags the beads are in are from Indonesia!! I bought a large stock of bags from the local supermarket as they were so cheap, and still have some left 13 years later! I also bought freezer paper, which I am still using. Super magazines – my pile of unread magazines has grown again!

  9. thimbleanna says:

    I laughed when I read that you like to see the Aussie girls on the world stage — I think I’m not the only yank who feels like, these days, you Aussie girls ARE the world stage. Our stuff seems so boring and predictable anymore — the stuff coming out of your corner of the world is fabulous!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

