Bits and Bobs

There have been a few things that have caught my eye of late, that I thought you might enjoy too!

Met a lady who bought this bag in Chile, the appliqué design on which I think is called Mola….

20130909-174755.jpgI love the colours and embroidery details….

20130909-174838.jpgGlenda saw this sign and sent a photo of it to me….

20130909-175449.jpg(The Golfer thought it highly appropriate !!)

And could this be a new block design???

20130909-175554.jpgWhat do you think? Light/medium/dark in each block? The layout means fewer seams to match……could have potential!

Happy stitching
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bits and Bobs

  1. Susan says:

    Oh I love that sign….so appropriate.

  2. treadlemusic says:

    Molas/reverse applique have always amazed me. I’ve tried it but have not the patience to get very far (even with a good pair of scissors!!!!). Beautiful!

  3. Helen F says:

    It looks like your hairy stitching M with all the embellishment!!

  4. zibergirl says:

    I can tell you that the Mola originates from Panama and is the handy work of the tribe of Native Americans called Cuna. My daughter lived there for 4 years, so I have a few of these lovely pieces. It’s incredible to imagine the amount of work that goes into one.

  5. Oh, I can see real possibilities with this brick/block design. I had to draw it out right away. I’ve designed dozens of quilts in my head and on paper. Someday (I hope) I will actually make one.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

