Tuesday Stitching

On Tuesday I had the great delight of accompanying Glenda to visit Lizzie in her new abode, for a stitching afternoon, and Sharyn came along to join us as well!

Liz’s lovely light filled home is filled with vignettes; her gorgeous work, and gifts from friends…..

20130831-175719.jpg….everywhere, there is something to delight the eye!

We spent a fun afternoon, stitching, chatting, enjoying afternoon tea treats….

20130831-175838.jpg…and discussing our favourite topic, quilts and quilting projects. During our chat, Liz brought out a quilt she’s made from triangles cut from her scraps…..

20130831-180153.jpgLizzie has mixed old and new, modern and reproduction, bright and murky…..and we love it!!!

Needless to say, Glenda and I are looking into our respective scrap bins with new eyes!!

Another lovely day with quilty friends!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tuesday Stitching

  1. Great scrap quilt. The simplest ideas are always the best.

  2. Geraldine says:

    Following your blog now. 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    you have me know eying my scraps differently as well – I had not thought to do one with half square triangles like that – are those 1 1/2 inch units? they do look small.

  4. treadlemusic says:

    Such a wonderful time and her home is the perfect setting. Her scrap quilt is, what many would say, the epitome of scrap quilting! Love the post!!!

  5. Such cute stuff she has. The treats look good. Nothing in the house like that here. Now I am craving some! I like the scrappy projects. They do sparkle with all the mixing of colors and tones.

  6. What a beautiful home she has! I love that scrappy quilt….. Must look at my buckets if scraps with a new eye.

  7. broderie says:

    It was lovely to have you both ! Reading the comments above I’m happy that I have made people interested in their scraps, my idea is that if you love a piece of fabric, they will all mix together well and then throw in some that you don’t love so much !!!

  8. Helen F says:

    M – I luuuv the scarp quilt – I new I was saving my HUGE bag of scraps for something!!!! Thanks broderie!!!!

  9. As you know, I don’t quilt. But one of my aunts has a (perhaps finished by now, but who knows!) hexie quilt that documents the clothes she’s made for herself and her family over the years. It’s interesting to trace the different fabrics and note the brighter colours that have appeared as the years wore on.

  10. Jan Sharp says:

    The scrappy quilt is divine have to try one of those

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

