A Day in the City

My next engagement on the social calendar (have I told you I love early retirement!!!!!!!), was another outing with gorgeous Linda. Would you believe after spending Friday afternoon together, we still yakked non-stop all day Tuesday?!! Linda’s such fun to be with!

The purpose of our get together was a trip into town to see the Hollywood Costume Exhibition (sorry, no photos allowed), which we thoroughly enjoyed. I shall look at all movie costumes, from the ordinary to the exquisite, with different eyes now! If you haven’t been, I’d urge you to visit – it closes on 18 August so there’s still a couple of weeks to go. There are costumes from very early movies through to current ones, and interviews with actors, directors, and costume designers, including Edith Head who designed in Hollywood for 50 years!!

We were very fortunate to have been passed a gift voucher for a Chocolate Indulgence at Lindt Chocolate Cafe (thanks Glenda xo) which looks something like this….

20130731-174832.jpg…and this….

20130731-175044.jpgand was scrumptiously delicious!!

Linda had never been to The Hopetoun Tearooms, and after our indulgent repast, there was no way we were eating there, but we did enjoy looking at the window. (This is particularly for you, Anne!!)

20130731-175516.jpgOur next stop was l’uccello…..always a delight!

20130731-175720.jpgI picked up a couple of little bits and pieces, which were put into this bag….

20130731-175830.jpgKim has such great packaging!!

20130731-175931.jpgI thought the circle fabric would be good for Dresden Plate centres!!

Next it was tessuti fabrics which I’ve read about but not visited, and where I picked up this pattern…

20130731-180242.jpgI have some grey cotton/linen and bought the ribbon at l’uccello as a trim for the neck and sleeves. Hoping to make it one day soon, with the help of my friend Maree! (Thanks Maree!)

Our list was all ticked off, so we hopped back onto the train and headed home. Thanks Linda for a lovely day!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Day in the City

  1. Helen F says:

    Wow what a chocolate plate!!!! Our Anne would be simply salivating looking at the cakes in the Hopetoun Tearooms!! I hope to be able to make the exhibition before it closes – working full time at the moment sucks!!!!! I am really hanging for one of our roadtrips – roll on next weekend!!!

  2. treadlemusic says:

    Meredithe!!! I am sitting here and it’s 8 p.m. and all I want is chocolate, chocolate and more…….. (well, you get the idea!) and not just any “you-know-what”, I want THAT CHOCOLATE just like in the photo!!!!! And the tearoom and the fabric and the pattern!!! Huge SIGH!!! And hugs, too;-b

  3. Karen says:

    I could barely keep scrolling down to see the rest of the post – I wanted to say at the lovely desserts!! my god, what beautiful food!! lovely!

  4. What …..! All day in town and not one pub stop !!!

    Louise Sent from my iPhone

  5. Ann says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day. What good taste you (and I) have. I also bought the same liberty fabric as you, to make myself a shirt.

  6. That looks like a perfect day!

  7. I had one of those hot chocolates …… and I drooled over the cakes in the Hopetoun Tearooms. Maybe that will have to go on next year’s itinerary too!!
    Oh – the fabric and pattern were nice too!

  8. Kim Bastiani says:

    Sooooo glad you had a lovely day. Will get to l’ucello soon!!!!!!!!

  9. Maree says:

    I DO like your photos ,of sewing, food and purchases. Keep up the good work ! Can,t wait to see the Tessuti pattern, and hope I can help
    Maree

  10. marian says:

    oh what a fun outing!! i love L’uccello, Kim’s such a sweetie!! i love Tessuti’s too!! nice buys 🙂

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

