Exploring Creativity

What an amazing weekend! I have just spent the whole weekend

:: in the company of quilty ladies
:: enjoying stitching pleasures
:: eating scrumptious food
:: renewing friendships and making new ones, and, most importantly,
:: exploring creativity with the fabulous, highly talented, super friendly Margaret Sampson George and her crazy but adorable friend Jean! (We all need to petition Jean to update her lovely blog more regularly – she’s become an Instagram fiend!!). What more could a girl ask for?!

And this was all thanks to Liz for organising Margaret and Jean to come down to Melbourne (from Sydney) for the workshop, and the very generous Lavena for opening her home and welcoming us in (and her husband for vacating his home to a mad group of quilters for 2 days!!).

Margaret’s philosophy toward her work is laid back, anything goes, relax and enjoy. It was so wonderful to be granted that freedom and to then explore a choice of 4 quilts to interpret and make our own; after some initial hesitation by some participants, they joined with the rest of us and threw themselves into the joy of working this way.

I’ve put together a few collages of our work over the weekend for you to enjoy.

20130716-132226.jpg

20130716-132252.jpgJean spoilt us with delicious food – so good I forgot to photograph it, but finally remembered at Sunday’s lunch (missed the morning and afternoon teas, though. Just imagine…..muffins, lemon slice, chocolate slice, marble cake and chocolate/berry biscuits!!)

20130716-132544.jpgWe were able to show the Sydney girls what we get up to in Melbourne with our show and tell on Saturday night – here’s a snippet of what was displayed….

20130716-132656.jpg

20130716-132724.jpg

20130716-132740.jpgIt was so inspirational seeing all this beautiful work (apologies if I’ve missed any – some of my photos didn’t come up very well, I had to crop Jean’s enthusiastic head from a lot of them!!).

I shall show you what I achieved very shortly. I do wish I lived in Sydney and could go to more classes with Margaret, but hopefully she’ll return to Melbourne and I can indulge again!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Exploring Creativity

  1. I went to a workshop with Marg a few weeks ago and loved her eye for fabric and what could be made. I look at fabrics differently now. Glad to hear you had such a wonderful time.

  2. Serious, serious envy!! It’s ages since I had a weekend away with quilty friends ……. maybe I should try to organise one!!

  3. mandymunroe says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun, we are so lucky to have such good friends who share our passion.
    Love the quilts!

  4. Helen F says:

    Glad you had a great weekend M!!!

  5. What a fun time! So many interesting projects going on, one couldn’t help but be inspired. Quite a few already on my “must do” list. Can you tell me about the bird and birdcage appliqué?
    Birds are my daughters favorite and I’d love to know the pattern and etc.
    thanks for the show and tell.

  6. thimbleanna says:

    WOW! What an amazing group of projects. I sounds like a wonderful weekend. I’ll bet you’re overflowing with inspiration and new ideas!!!

  7. Carolyn says:

    My goodness! What a wonderful weekend. It must have been so inspirational. Can’t wait to see what you did.

  8. marian says:

    How fun to be with inspiring people and have a go at something new & different!! i LOVE what is see!!

  9. treadlemusic says:

    What a wonderful time you must have had!!! The photos you shared were marvelous! Hugs…..

  10. Carol G says:

    What a post full of inspiration! Thanks for sharing

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

