It’s Working!

I’m up to appliquéing my hexie star to a background, and so far so good!

20130710-140224.jpgThanks for all your suggestions and ideas – lots of different processes to try. I guess that’s how we work out which process, or combination thereof, suits us best. I do love the Internet for this helpful spread of information!!

Now, for those who asked, Ma Kettle had supplied the recipe for that delicious fruit cake. It’s actually my Nanna’s (Ma Kettle’s mum).

BOILED PINEAPPLE FRUIT CAKE.

1 cup sugar (I use 1/2 cup)
1 can crushed pineapple
500gs mixed fruit
1 teaspoon bicarb soda
125gs butter
1 teaspoon mixed spice
1 cup plain flour
1 cup S.R. flour
2 eggs

Place sugar, pineapple, chopped mixed fruit, bi-carb soda, spice and butter in a saucepan.
Bring to boil for three minutes.
Remove from heat and cool completely. ( we cooled ours overnight )
Sift flours together and stir into cold mixture with beaten eggs.
Place mixture in lined 20cm. tin.
Bake in moderate oven 1 hour and 30 minutes. Reduce heat to slow for further 20/30 minutes. ( we didn’t cook for this long – it appeared to be cooked before the final 20/30 minutes – I guess each oven is different )
Enjoy!

Thanks Ma Kettle, I’m sure we will.

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s Working!

  1. Glendacust@gmail.com says:

    It looks gorgeous!!!!

  2. Helen says:

    I love it! More hexies to come? Great pattern

  3. Thanks for the recipe Meredithe, and your hexies are beautiful!

  4. Looking lovely. Definitely worth all that effort.

  5. Love the hexies – now I want to get out my much neglected hexie wallhanging!

  6. Karen says:

    what is S.R. flour? the recipe sounds good. I normally only make fruit cake at Xmas time. Your hexies look great. I really need to finish some of the projects I am working on and get back to my hexie project (actually have two kinds going, one almost done the other not)

  7. thimbleanna says:

    Those hexies are gorgeous Meredithe! Thanks for the recipe — it looks delicious!

  8. treadlemusic says:

    The recipe sounds yummy…for sure and the hexies are super terrific!!!! Way to go, Girl!!!!

  9. cloudcoucou says:

    Your hexies are so cute and love the fabric choices, can’t wait to see it finished 🙂

  10. Sue says:

    Thanks for the recipe Meredithe, but what size tin of pineapple did you use. Can you let me know please. Cheers 🙂 Sue http://www.susannasquilts.blogspot.com

  11. Nabors Patch says:

    Love your hand piecing techniques. I’m also addicted to hand piecing….
    can I give you a tip. With the pin at the end of the seam, only put it through once, down through the two fabrics, and then hold the pin between your index and middle finger.
    this keeps your seam line lined up. I like fine lace pins for this method.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

