Choices

I’m still on a high from yesterday!! I don’t know what it is about that class, but each time I, and I think I can speak for us all, we, come away feeling so satisfied.

Is it the shop atmosphere? Is it our fellow students? Is it working with wooly bits? Probably all of the above!

We sorely missed Miss Glenda yesterday, who is “winged” at the moment and couldn’t join us. She’s obviously the one that gets us going straight away, as yesterday we all seemed to faff about for quite some time before settling into our work!

As you may have seen on yesterday’s post, we’re all taking an individual approach to this quilt….and loving it!! For example, this is the line drawing from the book for one of yesterday’s blocks

20130701-152850.jpgand here is what I decided to do

20130701-152916.jpgCouldn’t be bothered with all the extra stems……so, left ’em off!

With the other block, the line drawing looks like this

20130701-153006.jpgand here’s what I did

20130701-153036.jpgThinking I might do lots of drizzle stitch at the top of the “flowers”.

So enjoyed using my new Greta Roll

20130701-153227.jpgand the little birdy pin cushion is perfect for holding the needle while working the drizzle stitch!

I don’t think I’ve shown you the blocks from the previous month (probably because I only finished the second one on Saturday night – nothing like the last minute to get things done!!)

20130701-153420.jpg

20130701-153442.jpg
Must away to whip up a lasagne and a sausage casserole for the Kettles (no, they won’t be eating them all at once, they’re to go in the freezer for later on). And Ma Kettle did say something about me making a fruit cake……me? making a fruit cake???? Wish me luck with that one!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Choices

  1. the variegated thread is lovely

  2. I love your interpretation of the blocks! Your colours are gorgeous!

  3. Sheila says:

    i am loving all your woolly blocks. Have you ever tried the three ingredient fruit cake? I kg mixed dried fruit. (Mix your own or buy a bag ), Cover with a 600 ml carton of Iced Coffee and Soak it overnight , (in South Aus we would use Farmers Union iced coffee) next morning stir in 2 cups Self Raising Flour, mix thouroughly and pour into a greased and paper lined cake tin ( i use a 10 inch square pan, but whatever you have is fine. Bake at about 170 C for about 1 1/4 hours. You can brush the hot cake with brandy or whiskey but not necessary. It keeps about 2 weeks, so not as long as a traditional one, but you can slice it and freeze it successfully. Easy Peasy and delicious

  4. Sheila says:

    PS your mum won’t believe it , but it is every bit as good as the traditional

  5. kathie says:

    adorable, wow, love the colors of your new wool purchases 🙂

  6. Glendacust@gmail.com says:

    Oh I can’t wait to get going !!
    I have serious sewing envy !
    They all look fab ! X
    Gxx

  7. Karen says:

    love the applique!

  8. thimbleanna says:

    Oooh, I love all the details on your blocks — the beads are so fun! Is that ribbon that you used for the stems in the first shot? They’re all so clever!

  9. The blocks are fabulous! Good luck with the cake – I have a recipe for a tasty fruit cake which I must look out for you.

  10. I love the look of mixing wool and cotton the topping off with fancy stitchery.
    I will have to try it.

  11. treadlemusic says:

    Am loving your stitchings!!!! They have the “folk art” appeal that I just am drawn to. The fruit cake recipe sounds most intriguing!!!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

