Winter Love

That bone chilling, toe numbing, teeth chattering, face freezing Winter cold that I longed for over Summer is here…….And LoVing It!!

20130619-171711.jpgChilly morning walks have been invigorating…..low sunlight streaming in windows bathes us in muted warmth…..early drawing in of nights need curtains pulled and lamps turned on for cosy, snugly evenings……slow cooked and oven cooked meals sustain and nourish.

It’s been grey, wet and cold. It’s been blue skied, sunny and cold. Either way this weather is a great excuse to wrap up, rug up and quilt up!

I’ve been playing with yarn most evenings and this serendipitous combination caught my eye

20130619-172057.jpg…perhaps with some grey and white? Hmmm, think I need to pull out some fabrics reflecting these shades…..!

Hope you’re enjoying your weather, wherever you are!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Winter Love

  1. I must be a silly girl but I didn’t realise that it got toe numbing cold in Australia. I love your wool colours. I think you’re going to enjoying working with those colours.

  2. Suz says:

    I sat outside at lunchtime and enjoyed the sunshine! For winter I think we have been very lucky! Your wool looks lovely!

  3. Carmel Leybourne says:

    I love this post it is well written Meridithe.

  4. Helen F says:

    Lovely photo of the tree with raindrops! – more grey wool????

  5. Karen says:

    I guess the further south you go in Australia the colder the winters are whereas the opposite here in the states – the further north you go the colder it is.

  6. Laura C says:

    Winter is a quilter-knitter’s season, for sure. I gripe about the long winters here in Massachusetts but really, summer makes me just a little bit crazier than any snowy winter. 🙂

  7. Quilter501 says:

    Winter, by far, is my favorite season! Perhaps that is why I chose to move up North in the US for retirement rather than down south in the SNOW BIRD zone. Its coldness, as you described, is delicious……inspiring……invigorating. Both my husband and I enjoy the fires, long winter evenings,, casseroles, movies with friends……even storms and moving tons of snow. We get up to 12 ft. a winter….sometimes half in one storm! No RVs, no silly tin hat parades in trailer parks in the desert for us, no work outs in clubs with leather skinned fossils (I know, I lived in Arizona for 8 years and was afraid of becoming one!)……lots of playing cards, social evenings with friends and board games…..lots of QUILTING time.

  8. Carole says:

    I love the nature photos you take with the morning dew and rain. Will have to take my camera on morning walks.
    Carole

  9. Ann Ireland says:

    Oh I luv, luv, luv those colours. Can’t wait to see what you create!!

  10. It’s been a bit crunchy underfoot at rowing training this week. I salute your enthusiasm for the season! 🙂

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

