I Fo-ouuuund It!

Did you read that heading in a sing-song voice, full of glee, gladness and jocundity?? If not, please go back and do so….oh, and add a bit of smugness too!! ‘Cos that’s how I’m feeling!!

Back in 2010, I attended a class with The Sue Spargo (very exciting!) at Amitie where Sue took us through the makings of her Greta Needle Roll. It was my first introduction to “wooly bits” and Sue’s style of embroidery and stitching. Loved the class, but as so often happens – well, to me anyway! – I became caught up with other things and my Greta languished. (I know some from the class have theirs well and truly completed.)

Roll forward to the beginning of this year and, as you may know, I’m enjoying once a month visits to Millrose, where we’re making the Flowerbed quilt. Thinking that the Greta Needle Roll would be great to finish and take along, I set out to search and find…….except it became a search and search. It had to be somewhere in my mess my sewing room. As Papa would say, “it’s not lost, it’s on the farm somewhere”!! And my sewing room is considerably smaller to search than the farm’s 640 acres!!

At one stage I found the bag with recognised fabric bits….could this be it?? I quickly dug deeper……But no, only the fabric bits, not the-beginnings-of with stitching bits…..

Then, last week as I searched for something ComPletely different,

I
Found
It !!!!

And then proceeded to finish it. So here she is – my Greta Needle Roll…

20130611-162807.jpg…with Sue Spargo signed label.

20130611-162918.jpgOutside looks like this…

20130611-163006.jpg…inside looks like this….

20130611-163041.jpg(I sewed in zips!!)
And here it is, ready for use…

20130611-163205.jpgVery happy with the result! Roll on class….!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Fo-ouuuund It!

  1. Carolyn Scriven says:

    Congratulations-well done . I am envious !

  2. Quilter501 says:

    I love, love, love it. I too have seen it online and wished to start it. It is one of my favorite patterns. Someday…….(I think we have very similar tastes!)

  3. Helen F says:

    You did a great job in finishing it M !!! (if you like the hairy stuff) embroider looks great!!! (I would have changed the shape of your pincushion!!)

  4. Sharyn says:

    Well there you are, my system DID work!, And I thought of you the other day when I read this –
    one of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries. A. A. Milne. I can hear Winnie the Pooh saying that!!!

  5. I am suffering severe envy – imagine, I nearly licked the screen for a non-food item!!! I must make the effort to do all the little projects that I have, in between doing massive projects for Anne!

  6. Liz McMahon says:

    Well done on both the finding and finishing Meredithe, I’ll look forward to seeing it in full use at the end of the month..
    Lizzie
    xxx

  7. Glenda says:

    Gorgeous!!
    It’s fabulous , looks like so much fun to do !
    Gotta love pretty and practicle!!
    Gxx

  8. kathie says:

    it is so cute I just love that bird!!!! glad you found it and finished it!!!!
    now use it everyday so it can’t get lost 🙂
    Kathie

  9. Sue Whitburn says:

    I just love it! Especially the inside- the bird is sooo cute despite Miss Helen’s views!!!!!!

  10. Elaine says:

    Gorgeous! Beautiful and practical, what’s not to like 🙂

  11. Nancy says:

    I really like this. It looks so pretty and very handy.

  12. I love your Greta Needle Roll. So pleased you found it.

  13. Miss E says:

    Well done – it’s pretty, practical and perfectly cute! It’s great to find (and finish) another UFO – and that one wasn’t even on The List, was it?

  14. helen yann says:

    Love it!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

