Surprise Cowl

I’ve had a few requests for the pattern of my new (and first!) cowl. So here goes!

After a “mummy” look in my knitting basket, I did find the band from the yarn!! It’s Surprise yarn by Lincraft (I’m guessing it’s 8 ply) and a 100g ball. They suggested 6mm needles, but I found the stitches too loose, so I used 5mm needles.

An exploration of Ravelry and googling didn’t bring up a really easy cowl, so I decided to try my hand at my own.

20130603-155933.jpgI cast on 170 stitches and knitted 6 rows of rib. Not wanting any leftover yarn, I gambled with the next bit and knitted 22 rows of stocking stitch, then another 6 rows of rib. ( I figured I could easily undo a couple of rows of the stocking stitch if there wasn’t enough yarn to finish!! )

Cast off and sew or crochet the short ends together. Job done!

20130603-160440.jpgI think there was about 18″ of yarn left over.

Hope this is clear enough. Any queries, let me know!

Happy knitting
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Surprise Cowl

  1. Sandy B says:

    Thanks for the pattern Meredithe! I want to make one. Now. It looks sooo good. That colour combination with your new hat looks wonderful.

  2. IRENE GOULDEN says:

    Thanks Meredithe, enjoying following your blog.
    Getting ready to have a go. thanks again,
    Irene

  3. Another simple cowl that would look spectacular with that yarn is this one http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/3-hour-cowl-2 that I made earlier this year. It’s knit in the round (I don’t know if that’s a problem for you; some folk aren’t all that keen). It says three hours but I took about three days to make mine, so if speed is the main factor – well, you know how fast you knit. 😉

  4. treadlemusic says:

    I so love it! The colors are wonderful!! I happen to have a ball of yarn that will work so This is perfect timing!! Will be ahead of next Fall (although, we have yet to have much warm weather….last night it was very low 40’s F and tonight 50F….ugh!) Very cool days and the rain returns tomorrow for a FEW days! (sigh!).

  5. JennyM says:

    Love the colours of your beautiful cowl. Had to laugh when I read the words, that you had a “mummy look”!

  6. Rosslyn Gale says:

    Thank you for that. I plan to make a couple while we are away in our caravan

  7. Di From Brisbane says:

    Thanks for the instructions Meredithe,I’ ll have to get myself to Lincraft tomorro.
    Di

  8. This could be just the thing to get me knitting again ….. we’re going up to visit Stuart and Alison at the weekend, so I could knit it in the car. Love the colours of your yarn – I think I have something similar in my stash ….

  9. Glenda says:

    Fab ! I’m starting now!!!!
    Thanks! Xx

  10. Cathy says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! xo

  11. Sue Whitburn says:

    It looks fantastic Meredithe, now all I need to do is learn how to knit rib and stocking stitch!!! Hehe! Xx

  12. Having attempted to emulate your success, I am even more impressed by yours. I’ve rarely knitted with such awful yarn!! LOL. Frank and fearless that is. I agree, it’s pretty enough but I had to block it to make it useful, even the rib (I know; these are both crimes against yarn especially the ribbing and even when it’s acrylic). I didn’t calculate my yarn as well as you did yours. because I had a fair bit left after casting off. I probably could have knitted a couple more rows of stocking stitch. But, truthfully, I don’t think I’ll be hurrying out to buy more. So, mega congratulations on such a lovely end product.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

